Avis

InfoInfo MapMap
Search:    

Upload new image "Avis.JPG"

Location
1700 Olive Dr
Hours
Mon-Fri 8am-6:00pm
Sat 9am-3pm
Sun 10am-3pm
Phone
(530)753-8822
Website
[WWW]http://www.avis.com

A car rental service.
Located in a combined Avis/Budget facility.

seed-000.png This entry is a seed, a starting point for writing a full entry.
You can help the Davis Wiki by expanding it! Just click the "Edit" button.

Comments:

Note: You must be logged in to add comments

2005-09-08 16:16:03   This is my favorite car rental outfit. They are fast, courteous, and don't charge you when you can't return because they're closed. (so long as you are there pretty quick the next day) —RocksandDirt


2006-08-11 13:49:26   Great service. The online reservations worked fine and we were able to extend our reservation several additional days midway through with no problem. Returning the car was a piece of cake with no hidden charges (they even made sure that the price billing sounded right before processing it). —SeanRegan


Avis now rents to 21-24 year olds. However, there is a $25/day surcharge and they won't rent you a passenger van, full-size/luxury SUV, or luxury car.


2007-03-26 12:04:11   Overall a great experience with just a few minor mishaps. I had a pretty unique request: I needed a car to take my driver's test in and Avis let me rent out the car unlicensed as long as another licensed driver was doing the renting, and accepted full responsibility for what I did with the car. They added me on as a second driver, I got the optional insurance, and they gave me the paperwork necessary for the DMV. The lady at the counter was a bit spacey and I had to explain things multiple times. Another issue is that I had to return the car with a full tank since I supposedly rented it out on a full tank but that wasn’t quite the case so I ended up giving them at least a gallon more than I used. When I returned the car, there was also an issue where I had scheduled the car to be rented for about a day and a half but they assumed only a day and were about to charge me for two but they gave me a discount due to the discrepancy, so I was good. —RachelPeters


2007-07-29 13:51:32   Good service, inexpensive, and convenient to the bus lines. —rachelss


2008-07-19 13:29:26   Good service. They gave me a free ride back to my apartment today.


2008-09-26 08:56:09   I am an occasional renter for business day trips. Also, two times that my car needed work because of accidents I needed a rental for extended periods of time. Davis-Avis has always been my location of choice. The lack of a night-time dropoff is kind of a drag, but otherwise this place is great. —BarryRice


2009-08-23 23:27:28   Today, my friends and I were at the Nugget Market on Covell which shares the parking lot with Avis. As we were leaving, a red 'Focus' belonging to Avis came speeding through the parking lot like a maniac in front of Nugget, nearly slammed into my car and then another, all the while screeching tires and blasting the horn repeatedly, with no concern for pedestrians crossing the road in front of the store. We watched the car return to the front of the Avis office. The driver could have been a customer, but also may have been an employee of Avis. It was quite unsettling as the driver nearly plowed into 2 cars driving dangerously fast through a 5-10 mph parking lot. We will be seeking to confirm the identity of the driver as they were endangering the public and should not be permitted to drive anything. If the person was just a customer, we certainly mean nothing against Avis as they cannot control how people drive the rented car. If the person works for Avis, immediate action must be taken before they hurt someone. —JSully


2010-03-17 19:40:47   My personal favorite rental car corporation. Cars are always reliable, well maintained and available, even on short notice. They have a frequent renters program which helps you save hard earned cash and even earn free rentals from time to time. I have used them approximately two or three times a year for the past decade and have never had any problems. —WesOne


2010-12-09 08:41:02   Excellent service, beyond what you expect from a big company. It has the feel of a small local business. —libero


2010-12-21 22:52:52   I needed to rent a car for a full day. I usually use Zipcar, but they charge $60 or more for a full day. I got a decent car from Avis, only $35 for 24 hours, and it only took about 5 minutes. AWESOME. Highly recommended if you need a car for more than a few hours. —KyleAmbroff


2011-06-20 10:40:22   I recently rented a car from them, their rates were: $30.50 hourly, $61 daily ($45 per additional day), $183 weekly (pay for 5 days, they give you 2 free). This was for their smallest sized car.

They were very good with me, I ended up returning the car a few days early and they only charged me for the time I borrowed it. They didn't try to push unnecessary insurance on me either. The only thing is to remember to fill up the gas tank before returning as their prices to fill it up for you is steep ($8/gallon). They told me this up-front however when I got the car. —Ravyn

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.