Café Méditerranée/2005 through 2007 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of Café Méditerranée from 2005 through 2007. For more current reviews, visit the entry.


2005-07-22 17:26:56   My favorite restaurant in Davis. The food is great, grab some shawerma, rice, some hummus and some cucumber and yogurt dip, throw it on a pita, and you have one of the most satisfying meals you can get for around 10 bucks. I love it. The best ethnic restaurant in town, 100%. —AmandaCaudle


2005-09-06 22:21:53   The beef shawerma is the bee's knees. —DatNguyen


2005-09-07 01:53:44   This is a classy joint. —JesseSingh


2005-10-24 12:51:39   This place has the best chicken on earth, and the guy who owns the place likes to wear brightly colored jogging suits. By far the best place in Davis to eat if you are tired of the usual mexican/chinese. —ZacMorris


2005-12-08 14:12:16 They have a dessert that looks like shredded wheat covered in honey called Kataifi. Its probably the best dessert item you can find in an ethnic restaurant in Davis. The potato salad is definitely not something someone would think of getting at a place like this, but it was innovative and good. The eggplant appetizer is the best I've had in Davis, and although their Chicken is good, I found their Beef Shawerma to excessively dry, but flavorful." — CraigBrozinsky

The dessert referred to is Gadayef. It's almost the same thing as baklava, but has shreaded philo on top instead of the leayers in baklava. It is not 'healthful', but delicious.


2006-05-16 08:54:00   My wife and I took a friend here to dinner who was visiting from D.C. We all loved it. I had the lamb kabob, and it was great. The lamb was really tender and the rice was tasty. The people that work here are really friendly too. —AdamSchneider


2006-06-22 22:42:41   I love this place! The food is delicious and the owners are very friendly. I get the chicken kebab plate every time cause it's so good! My only complaint is that the pita bread is sold singly even with a large order of hummus. Not nearly enough. Desserts are great too! The baklava and shredded style are heaven! —MomsHome


2006-11-15 17:29:35   Great dishes but limited in their warm vegetarian options. My wife adores the chicken here. Desserts are fantastic as well. My biggest complaint is how stingy they are on the pita bread; Mediterranean restaurants in other cities usually give you a basket of pita. I easily fork over an additional 50 cents once or twice in the middle of a meal because I haven't managed to wipe my plate clean yet. But agreeably one of the better places to eat in Davis. —VivekMathrani


2007-02-22 18:59:11   This is one of my favorite restaurants here in Davis, the chicken breast plate with green salad and the egg plant ikra is my favorite!!! —AllisonTakeuchi


2007-03-03 01:45:47   Though I honestly prefer sams for the kabobs and main dishes, this place has great desters, the best baklava that I have found so far. —DavidPoole


2007-04-06 04:07:30   The muhamara is so delicious and unlike anything I've tried before, I spread it on a pita. The rotisserie chicken is also amazing, with lemon and some kind of sauce it's just heavenly. —EdHenn


2007-04-07 13:20:10   They also have a $5 corkage policy, which is not bad considering many of the restaurants in Davis trying to sell you a $6 bottle of Woodbridge for $25! We love to snag a bottle of our favorite wine and split one of their generous dinner plates. Splitting is highly recommended because if you didn't save room for dessert, you screwed up. —BillyBudd


2007-05-16 23:40:42   I would definitely recommend this restaurant. The environment and ambience is nice. The prices are pretty low if you decide to get a single item instead of getting a full meal (combination). Even then, it's still pretty inexpexsive. The patio out back is very nice when it's cooler. —BreeButler


2007-06-06 19:20:56   Used to be good, now its terrible. Hummus is watered down to almost a drink like texture, and because of their previous surge of popularity in 2005 they have been raising their prices by over 25% since then. Bad customer service, slow service, small portions compared to how much they charge. And every 2 out of 3 times meat is burnt. TWO THUMBS DOWN. —StephenSa


2007-06-11 19:15:32   hmm im surprised i havent reviewed this place. The falafels are worse here than any other place in davis (dry and burnt). The chicken is quite good, and their sides are decent, but id say for the most part slightly overated. I perfer Sam's Mediterranean CuisineMattHh


2007-06-11 22:06:09   To add my two cents, I have heard nothing great about their food, generally that most things are nothing special or worth much writing about, so though I have no personal experience, I will relate the experience of my friends on the matter. Secondly, their desserts are delicious, I come here to grab some sweets to go with my coffee at Mishka's, probably the only good bakalava in town as far as I can tell. —DavidPoole


2007-06-30 05:45:08   At lunch yesterday, the pita was dry—both the pita around my "wrap" and the pita they served with an order of hummus. That, in my opinion, is pretty much unforgiveable. —DavidRobinson


2007-07-27 20:41:09   I just ate there with me and my girlfriend tonight. I had the half rotisserie chicken plate with potato salad and babagunush and she had chicken kabob with salad and yogurt dip. (+) I'd go back for the food (+) ambiance is good enough for a high-end grad school date or a place where you can take your parents and pay for the bill (+) mens bathroom was clean (+) the dessert section is better than ciocolat IMHO since it's more "meatier" desserts (-) little or no service since it's a walk up order counter. —atwong


2007-08-14 19:40:56   i enjoyed the food very much. i haven't tried any of the other places like this to compare yet. —JackkiCox


2007-09-17 20:59:05   My wife and i tried out this little cafe tonight. It definitely wasn't worth some of the raving that it seems to have gotten here, but wasn't terrible either. It is most assuredly a cafe, you order at the counter and pay before sitting down, and you have to remember to grab your own utensils on your way to your table. It's kind of like fast food meets the Mediterranean with a cafe dessert counter. The food was OK, but not anything to write home about. The beef Shawerma was very dry and fatty, but the chicken kabob was pretty juicy. Both my wife and I give it a 5/10. —BC


2007-09-18 23:16:58   The food is really good (grade=A) and the service is good, very helpful and friendly employees (grade=A). I have been there many times—specially dinner time. I am gonna take my family and my friends to go over there again. Just try and take it positively—do not be picky!!!! Besides, the price is not really bad, it is standard for California. From a good customer :). —SoMeOnE


2007-10-08 12:20:48   They have awsome baklava for dessert and dinner or lunch meal is great also. I always order 1/2 chicken plate with taboule and humus. Yummy..... this restaurant is my favorite restaurant in Davis. I love it so much. —viviancute


2007-10-20 04:31:57   Awsome..... the place is cool. The owner is very friendly. The food is great. The service is wonderful. I love this restaurant. —Patricia


2007-11-11 11:13:23   We love this place. Great wraps and feta, and those little grape leave things are awesome. Reasonably priced. Two can eat for $20 and have a nice meal. The staff is really nice. They do get crowded though. So go at an off time or you will have little bimbo students try and cut in front of you in line all the time. At least we know UCD undergrads can put their cheating skills to work in real world situations. —LouisM


2007-11-12 23:42:46   Yes... the staff is very nice to costumers and ask the customers if they need anything and so on.... I think it is great. But, I saw one kitchen worker yelling rudely at a waitress. It was so unprofessional—yelling at her in front of a lot of people. This place is nice to have some food but I just feel so sorry for the waitresses. —viviancute

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.