Chuy's Taqueria/Reviews Through 2006

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of Chuy's Taqueria from 2006 and earlier. For more current reviews, visit the entry.


2004-11-19 03:12:28   Easily the BEST fish tacos I've ever had, and I've had a lot. I bike to Winters once a week, just to have the fish tacos here. No fried fish,cabbage or white sauce to be found here. Just well seasoned fish, with good salsa, excellent corn tortillas, avocado, lettuce, and a little lime. Clearly there's more to it, but those are the highlights. My wife loves the cheese enchiladas, and is always willing to drive out to Winters for them. My biking friends love the weekend 6 tacos for $6 deal (no fish or shrimp :) This restaurant honestly has the best food I eat each week, and the family who run the place are all quite friendly. —EricKlein


2005-09-29 20:45:51   Indeed it is one of the finest places around. I have made it a habit to eat in every taqueria I pass by, so far giving my top award to Taqueria Davis in Davis, although sometimes they have bad days. Guadalajara in Woodland has some great tacos, but woodlandQuetzal, in the same shopping plaza has hand-made tortillas which are out of this world. Guadalajara in Davis is okay, as is Tamale and Mariachi's. My dad still makes the best tacos bar none. —JoseGonzalez


2005-10-30 16:59:46   The pork adobada taco was one of the best i've eaten in California, but the fish taco wasn't as good as those at Taqueria Super Tamale or the now defunct Chico's tacos. they only offer two salsas, but both are superior to any of the non-specialty salsas in davis. —CraigBrozinsky


2005-12-08 17:55:10   the real deal. this is the first positive thing I have to say about a Mexican place in Davis. —DudeNude


2006-03-02 21:01:15   My wife and I went to the new Davis location recently, and I'm happy to say that the food there was excellent. We both felt that it was at least as good as that at their Winters restaurant. We both had Fish tacos and I had an adobada taco. Hopefully everything else on the menu is just as good. Yay! —EricKlein


2006-03-16 17:05:20   Chuy's is possibly the best Mexican food I have ever had and I didn't expect to find that when I relocated 300 miles north. I will try to find a way to make the pilgrimage to Winters whenever I can. The pico de gallo is awesome and the homemade horchata is sublime. I'm excited there's a location in Davis now and I'll have to try it ASAP. Hopefully it's as good as the one in Winters.

*UPDATE* 2006-04-04 03:20:28   I've been to the one in Davis a few times now. The food is almost as good. Two big downsides, though, is that the tortilla chips aren't serve yourself and hot like in Winters and also NO HORCHATA. The horchata was the #1 reason to go to Chuy's. I talked to one of the workers about this and she said that they'll probably have a horchata machine in this summer. In the meantime, though, I'll continue to make the trek to Winters whenever possible. —SteveKent


2006-03-18 20:28:06   When I went there, the cashier forgot to charge me, so I had to wait in line 10 minutes to pay my bill. Food service was exceptionally fast. —SteveDavison


2006-03-18 20:42:03   Davis location: I sort of had the opposite experience as Steve did... service was pretty slow, but we went at a time when there were only two people working and a lot of customers. Excellent food for the first time me and my flatmates went there, with quality only a little below the level of Taqueria Guadalajara. It wasn't as spicy as we had hoped, but the cheese enchiladas were excellent. $1.75 for a fountain soda is a bit too much, though. All in all, it's worth returning to Chuy's (especially for West Davisians) and an improvement over the previous establishment. —BrentLaabs


2006-03-18 21:50:28   Finally decent Mexican food in West Davis! I walked over today and tried the fish tacos. Different than the tacos I'm used to, but very excellent. I especially liked the avocado. Nice touch. —JillWeinstein


2006-04-01 07:26:09   I am happy to report that Davis now has a really good Mexican Restaurant. We went to Chuy's Taqueria on Lake Blvd. March 30th 2006. The service was very good and friendly. I had a taco salad with chicken which was huge. The chicken was very tender. My husband had carnitas which he really liked. I have always gone to the Chuy's in Winters but was happily surprised to see one just down the street. I definitely recommend it. —JenCam


2006-04-04 13:21:55   Best place to get Mexican food in Davis. I got adobada tacos and they were the best tacos I've ever had. They were huge too. The cheese enchiladas were pretty damn good too —PattyLouieJunior


2006-04-11 20:19:14   So after all the hype about Chuy's from friends and Wiki, I went there tonight. I ordered two fish tacos at the recommendation of the girl behind the register and a soda...grand total= $7.81. For $7.81 I'd expect much better quality. First and foremost, the fish was chopped up into very small pieces to the point where it got lost in the shredded lettuce and you couldn't tell that you were eating fish. Secondly, although the tortillas were good, my tacos fell apart because they were so drenched in grease/some kind of liquid. If you ask me, fish tacos shouldn't be THAT wet. Plus, the chips were cold and broken into small pieces. The environment was clean and quiet which is nice but made me feel like I was in the library. My friend Adam's carnitas burrito was a bit on the tough side; the pork did not come apart like it should have. Overall experience: NOT THAT GREAT. —KarlaFung


2006-04-12 15:18:01   Not as good as I expected. I'd go to Guad first. —TiffanySnell


2006-04-12 23:58:27   The fish tacos are fantastic! I couldn't agree more with Eric Klein's comments above; for both the Davis and Winters locations. —JeremyNewton


2006-05-03 00:34:59   Interesting note: One of my friends had me try the quesadillas with chile verde the other day (not on the menu). It was phenomenal. I would highly recommend it. I still prefer the fish tacos to anything else, but this makes a good change of pace. —EricKlein


2006-06-04 02:46:47   mmmm. had an enchilada plate there recently. The sauce was great, the kind that stains the plate red, and has a nice dry spicey taste. I could eat here everyday! —DudeNude


2006-08-28 12:08:37   They have excellent seasoned pork (Adobada) and currently have a 6 soft taco for $6 special. I don't know if that's a regular thing or not, but it's good value today. I had a shrimp taco the first time I went, and it was awful; It tasted like an expired Safeway pack of bay shrimp. The "crispy" tacos were made in a generic pre-formed hard corn shell, very disappointing. The soft tacos, however, are a big win, and come highly recommended. —ChrisLambertus


2006-11-09 6:53   Everything is excellent at Chuy's, but go for the seafood dishes. Their coctel de camaron, ceviche, and camarones a la plancha are easily the best in Davis. I especially love coctels, and the one I had at Guadalajara was inedible. Chuy's coctel has really meaty shrimp and the regular selection of fresh vegetables to go with them. The service is gracious and nice, although they were a little slow one evening when understaffed. Please go to this restaurant! It's a little out of the way from the regular downtown haunts, but well worth the trip to west Davis. —JerryMonte


2006-11-25 13:16:43   Great value - huge burritos. —AcMach


This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.