Ciocolat/2007 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are archived reviews of Ciocolat from 2007. For more recent comments, please visit the entry.


2007-01-14 11:26:53   Could someone put their breakfast menu online, please. A thousand thankyous in advance for whoever undertakes this daring quest —JarrettNoble


2007-01-29 21:52:02   oh i definitely do not agree. i LOVED their omelettes as they were very milky. and the butter came pre-wrapped so i wouldnt exactly call that a slab..i also enjoyed their eggs benedict, goodstuff! —StephanieHudson


2007-02-20 00:49:08   I enjoy the seasonal green salad very much. They usually have the salad with avocados, thinly sliced red onions, and goat cheese. But I can't say no to the sliced pears, highly recommended. Oh and the passionfruit guava ice tea is excellent as well. —JessicaYang


2007-02-21 11:40:31   Some of the best coffee in town. Desserts are wonderful but pricey. The only frustrating thing is that it can take a while to get your order in when things get backed up, longer than most other places anyway. If you're in a hurry and just want to grab a quick cup it can be annoying. —BriannaBetancourt


2007-03-12 15:00:50   I like their deserts...especially the blackberry mousse. I like their coffee as well; smell really good. I don't really like their services though although nothing is bad about them except no smiles (kinda scary to me). —CarlieYang


2007-03-29 09:19:38   I've been unimpressed most of the times I've been here. The last time, I showed up at 9:44 (16 minutes before closing) and they served me my desert in a plastic to-go box. I said I wanted to eat it there, and they mentioned they've stopped running the dishwasher for the night. Are you serious? You can't have dishes left over until the next load? After I finished separating bits of the doylee from my cheesecake (which was good, not great) with my plastic fork, I decided I was done with this place. —PeterAnselmo


2007-04-11 17:23:06   I second watery coffee. I'll try asking for extra grounds next time. —IrinaChakraborty


2007-05-02 21:03:13   Mousse seems to be the specialty of the house. It's a great mousse, not too light, not too heavy, and just the right amount of sweetness and creaminess. There are many mousse desserts here, so if you like mousse at all, this is your place. The 24K "domes" are amazing — a thin layer of cake topped with chocolate mousse and coated with dark chocolate. Cookies are also great — ginger spice with chocolate chips is a particular standout, maybe because it's unusual. The glorious array of delicious-looking cakes demands further research. If you hit up their table at the Farmers' Market, you will find a delicious fruit crumble (it looks like a small pie). The top (the "crumble") tastes like a cookie. —CovertProfessor


2007-05-02 22:33:59   ooh yes their cookies are good. The chocolate chunk is amazing. Also, the currant & cream scone may be the best scone in town. —EdHenn


2007-05-19 22:40:43   This place has nice ambience and atmosphere (afternoons can be peaceful here), but it's not worth it at all. You'll spend way too much money here, for not a lot of bang for your buck. I ordered a cinnamon roll, which was on the dry side and it was $3.50. Sorry but that is way too much. Their mango mousse was passable, but I wouldn't recommend it. This is a place you may just want to skip. It's quite unimpressive and not exactly worth the money. —BreeButler


2007-05-20 12:40:44   i really love their scones, $1.50 peach guava iced tea , and mochas. —MikaOkamura


2007-05-20 22:24:42   This place is so cozy. It looks like a cafe run out of someone's house. —Jedron


2007-06-07 15:22:23   The Black Forest cake wasn't very good for $4.50. What a disappointment. I'll stick with the Chocolate Decadence cake next time. —StephenSa


2007-06-11 16:17:22   Terrible lunch! $8 for a sandwich. I asked for no mayo, it comes out dripping with mayo, seriously the nastiest sandwich I've tasted and very expensive. Not to mention I ate outside and this gross smell old food from the kitchen was permiating the outdoor area. Dissapointment to say the least. —void


2007-07-09 10:43:18   My problem with Ciocolat is the employees. —Chantal


2007-07-16 12:33:43   oh the muffaletta. Were I more poetically inclined, I would write an ode to the Ciocolat Muffaletta. This is a very nice little place, good for truffles, coffee, wireless, etc. Nice place to go to for a treat (like the muffaletta!), but a little bit too pricey for regular attendance if you are a) on a college student budget or b) a hardcore Cafe Roma type. Then again, you are also paying for the ambiance, which is quaint, cozy and charming. —JillBenciWoodward


2007-08-01 15:51:17   The managment at ciocolat makes a big effort to hire the slowest (in every sense) people they can find. I wouldn't mind still eating there if it wasn't for the horrid service. Few weeks ago I went there for brunch with two friends. At 12.30 we started ordering, after being in line for 10 minutes. Apparently the girl had a problem understanding what a Moka smoothie was (despite the fact that my friend kept pointing at the menu...in an attemp to help her) and it took her 20 minutes to finally figure it out (am not kidding). Then a discussion followed among co-workers as to who should start the drink and who should bring the order to the kitchen. When they finally got back to us for the other orders (we were all together) and I tried to order some french toast, they told me that they stopped serving brunch at 1.00.
I told the girl we had been waiting there for 20 minutes while she figured how to read a menu; I was outraged and asked for the manager, who was unfortunately not there. We withdraw the brunch orders we had already made and left. I have enough of them. The food is good, but not great. It is pricey, and the bad service just makes it not worth it at all. —Paola


2007-08-10 17:31:02   I've gone there quite a few times, mostly to chill and drink coffee with a friend, or relax and have dessert on a quiet evening with the boyfriend. The coffee is fine (although the mochas are WAYY too chocolatey for me but I think I'm picky about drinks being too sweet). The desserts are of course AMAZING (albeit ridiculously expensive, but what are you gonna do?). The atmosphere is nice, with the porch seating and downtown location its really great during the summer. Some of the employees are sort of questionable though, and thats really my only problem with the place in general. I guess its just that you'd think that a nice fancy little cafe like that would be really good about having somewhat professional service going on but I've had various servers who just give off a bad representation of the place. Stuff like 1) if you ask them about a dessert in detail they'll act like they have no idea whats going in regards to at least trying to act like they work there and should know at least a little about the product, 2) reallllly slow line, no matter when you go they always take forever ringing people up, on more than one occasion people appear to just always act new in regards to having to check the menu behind them to rings things up and poor communication between cashiers and the people making the drinks/food 3) some of the girls there dress REALLY unprofessionally, like hoochie hollister booty sweatshorts and super small tanktops that could hardly be called pjs are just worn under an apron as their 'uniform'. Kinda sloppy if you ask me considering how fancy the place is in most other respects. —NatalieKitchiner


2007-08-26 15:51:07   I love having dessert here. The only problem is that it's so good, I always over-order and have to take things home with me, then I end up eating it as soon as I get home. —ElisaWeller


2007-10-13 22:07:57   This place is so cute and in a great location, but it can be painful to order a drink here. There is no system among the workers and getting a drink can take forever. The management needs to either hire more experienced workers or train them properly. They often have more than one person making drinks at once, reaching over one another and confusing things. It took about 4 people to get an iced latte, perhaps one of the easiest cafe drinks to make. The also ridiculously steamed the milk and melted all the ice. I wouldn't be complaining like this if bad service didn't happen every time I come in here. —davistudent


2007-11-08 22:43:21   this place is gooood for desserts..a little pricey but it is nice and fancy and a cute place to eat dessert...the workers are really nice too..maybe this is a good place to study..cause i saw at least three people there at 10 doing homework or reading...has a warm atmosphere..and the dark fudge there is delicious...yumm —MAIRA


2007-12-09 19:13:56   To elaborate on my previous, vague, comment about the employees... usually when I go to ciocolat the employees look a little perturbed to have to deal with a customer. Aside from that some of them do not know what they are doing. I ordered a cappucino on one occasion and watched the girl remake it twice (she did not know how to make foam when steaming the milk) before she called someone over to do it for her. I believe what she said was "this is the last time i am trying this, you do it." When I got the cappucino the glass had dark hairs on it, and on top of the foam, very disgusting. They remade the cappucino. I did not post specifics to not hurt anyones feelings, and now I have forgotten what made me so fed up in the first place.

The last two times I have been to ciocolat, however, the employees were much nicer. The desserts though, NOT good. The mousse is always excellent, but I ordered cake, which was dry and tasteless. Somehow it managed to leave a gross sugary film in my mouth despite its lack of flavor. —Chantal


2007-12-18 08:13:34   One of my favorite places in Davis. I have been here a number of times and have recently made a special cake order that needed to be gluten-free. After calling numerous places in and around Davis for an order in between the holidays, Stone's recommended I contact Ciocolat. After send ing an email, I was contacted within the same day from the owner, Kate,Who has been wonderful! Thanks kate! I know it will be a hit at our special event! Update 1/2/08: Everything was great and we got so many compliments on the cake and tulip cups. They were almost too beautiful to eat. —MyaBrn

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.