Davis Food Co-op/2005 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of the Davis Food Co-op from 2005. For more current reviews, visit the entry.


The Co-op is rad. In addition to being one of the last places to buy groceries downtown, the staff is friendly and helpful and the selection is pretty decent. You'll find yourself eating better if you shop here regularly (I did). My only complaint about The Co-op would be the occasionally slow checkout lines, but hey, it's retail... they do the best they can with the number of shoppers that plow through the store in the evenings! - KenNeville

Additionally, if you're a cheapskate who happens to like purchasing fresh veggies (like me), and can volunteer a regular four hours per week, you get a 16.5% discount on groceries. -AmeliaCarlson

When stuff seems to take a long time- consider that the Co-Op is a Co-Op and not your normal retail establishment. You aren't being served by minimum wage slaves, the people helping you out are co-owners. (or would be if they purchased shares, as the Co-Op hasn't voted to provide the minimum $10 share purchase to new hires and finds itself in the morally odd position of paying people who aren't a part of the Co-Op to serve Co-Operators.) Sure, sometimes the lines are slow, or you can't get much help finding Elbonian Pink Polka Dot Lentils, but everyone is doing what they can. - PopeChristof


2005-06-17 04:26:44   The Co-Op is one of the more expensive groceries in Davis. However, there are some items that only they have (such as Dried Porcini Mushrooms) and service that is unbeatable. When I went to the butcher he gave me advice on what type of chicken to serve at a dinner party and then proceeded to give me his recipe. A worker once helped me for five minutes in searching for vegan gummy bears for a friend and whenever herbs are out, they'll always go to the "back" and grab some more for you. Some of the things are actually cheaper than the equivalent at Safeway (such as a bunch of basil or certain mushrooms). —AlvinTsao


2005-06-23 01:33:50   Alvin you're right, DFC can be a bit pricey. But sort of like The Nugget, sometimes different things are cheaper. I've found that smaller brand names (Barbara's Bakery, Kettle Chips, Clover Stornetta, etc.) are cheaper at the Co-op than other places. (Probably something to do with the co-operative deal making.) Plus DFC always has tons of sales, and you can always find something new to try. And you can pretty much buy your weekly/daily/monthly groceries on sale, especially if you're not too loyal to brand names. I know there's always so frozen meal, snack foods, drinks, dairy products, produce, and tons of bulk items, that are on sale. And many of the sales go for the entire month. —MichelleAccurso


2005-06-23 01:36:26   I have a question (we should call this page, "Ask Michelle!"): Can I get a membership card for my roomie? Did I spell roomie right? —SummerSong


2005-08-14 12:36:19   Just to mention: Also non-residents (e.g. exchange students like me) can become a "Visiting Non-Member", that prevents you from paying the 5% extra fee on the shelf prices. It's only $5 for 3 month, or $15 for a year. I like the Co-Op very much, although it's a little bit more expensive than e.g. Safeway. What I don't like, that it is so difficult to find the products that are NOT fat reduced or fatfree. (I really like the taste of creamy milk, as the milk in Germany usually has 3.5% fat.) —BurkhardLehner


2005-08-19 21:16:52   If you are in S.F. please visit Other Avenues Food COOP. It's a bit different than our CO-OP, especially because it's so small, but it is a dinosaur of great food and community in that city. It's located on Judah Street between 40 and 41 Ave. —WayneSchiller


2005-08-19 22:48:56   Odd, one of the reasons I liked the Co-Op when I first found it was the sheer quantity of REAL food- cream top whole milk yogurt, unprocessed milk, heavy cream that you can scoop out with a fork, good butter, large selections of oils and real butcher bacon. I guess I don't perceive the fat free stuff anymore after a few years of training my sense, but if you can't find the God Stuff, ask a dairy clerk or a grocery worker - or any of the foodies. The Co-Op is a 'Real Food Baker's" dream! —PopeChristof


2005-08-23 19:15:09   Actually, I didn't really specifically say unpasteurized, but in fact, you can buy at least two varieties of totally raw milk at the Co Op- CA being one of the states where specialty dairies can sell it (In many states you must buy a share in a cow). But I buy Strauss anyway. The really raw stuff doesn't seem to matter much in coffee :) —PopeChristof


2005-10-06 00:16:24   I have a question I hope someone here can help me with: from the recent notice about the Oct 05 recruitment drive... does the "If you have any student ID, from any school, show it and you'll receive member prices." only work during the recruitment drive or is that on-going throughout the year? thanks!! —IrenePark


2005-10-06 00:18:51   i'm pretty sure that's just through the recruitment drive. if you don't want to pay for a membership, find a member and get them to give you a shopper card. you don't own any stock, and they get your dividend, but you still get member prices. —ArlenAbraham


2005-10-06 04:05:51   student ids work only during the drive. the drive is mainly for students, during that time you can use your card to get prices and try it out, if you like it you can become a member and get the gift certificate —MichelleAccurso


2005-10-07 02:08:18   Shopping at the Co-Op makes me feel all warm inside. —KenjiYamada


2005-12-16 22:47:10   warm fuzziness abounds here unfettered. —DudeNude

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.