Davis Noodle City/2006 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of Davis Noodle City from 2006. For more current reviews, visit the entry.


2006-01-22 18:33:17   You've got to try this place. This is a very unique Chinese restaurant that serves very good food. —PaulCasucci


2006-02-20 02:47:54   Fresh made potstickers and wonton's are delicious. Noodles are thick like Japanese udon noodles, but different. This restaurant has a very Taiwanese-influenced cuisine, which is different from most of the other Chinese places in Davis. —CurtisLim


2006-03-04 21:48:56   What a great restaurant! Extremely friendly staff that stop to engage you. And really fabulous food. My favorites are the Garlic Hot Chicken, and the Hot Oil Wontons (pork) Very generous portions (one dish eenough to serve 2 or 3 people), and very reasonable prices. I hope you guys stay in business a long time! :) —DavisLurker


2006-03-08 00:39:27   Don't forget to ask for the "buy 10, get 1 free" card if you don't have one (and plan on going back). Sometimes they don't tell you about it. Also, you can use your meal card for the meals that your friends or family members ate, too. Just ask the stamper to stamp them on your card. Makes a quick 10 in a few trips. —MattimusMoyus


2006-04-25 20:36:28   I love noodle city—best Chinese food in Davis. Definitely try the orange beef and chicken chow mein. The hand made noodles really make the difference. Try the soups too! Friendly, prompt service tops it off and keeps me coming back! —NelsonConley


2006-05-16 11:43:51   I've been here for lunch several times. One time, I ordered the Orange Beef. It tasted good, but my beef was tough and grissly. The next time I had a curry dish that I didn't care for too much . . . that was my own fault. All in all, this place has really good noodles, and some of the stuff my friends ordered looked really good. Also, for the money, I'm not sure you can get more food for your buck anywhere in Davis, especially for lunch. I'll keep going here. —AdamSchneider


2006-05-26 17:20:42   First and only time, I Went here with my girlfriend for dinner. Sat down, waited about 15 min for service. Still no service. We see a few other tables get service that came in after us! We look at waitress, she looks at us, then ignores us. Wait another 15+ min. Waitress FINALLY comes over to take our order. I think, "Oh, OK, maybe there was just a little confusion." There's a bit of a wait to get our food. We begin to eat and take LITERALLY 2 bites before the waitress brings us the bill. I feel rushed and insulted! Both my girlfriend and I are rather upset, but at least the food is fairly good. THEN, 1 minute later, still have 90%+ of our meals to eat, out of the nowhere that crazy waitress comes up to us and asks, "How are you paying?" WHAT THE HECK! Is this normal?! We say by Debit and she waits for us to get the wallet and give her the card. WHAT THE HECK, I was eating, in fact, JUST started eating! I have NEVER had such a rushed, insulting and enraging evening out to eat ever in my life (and I’ve eaten out all over the place in Davis about once a week for the past 2 years)!!! Is that normal policy? We quickly ate, left and did NOT leave a tip. I absolutely hate this place. It seems as though nobody else was treated that way! Everyone else just paid at the end, like normal, as far as I could tell. I would say, avoid this place like the devil because the service is INSULTING, but I think my experience was an exception. Anyone with a reasonable explanation of my terrible evening, please?! —JonEvans

Any restaurant owner who makes a sincere apology on a wiki deserves a second chance, for sure. —GregKuperberg


2006-06-12 11:20:35   I love the classical music that they play. It's so relaxing when eating. My faviorite dish by far is the sechwan Eggplant. —AnitaClaverie


2006-07-15 23:15:53   I used to eat noodle city five spice beef, and i love it becaue it's very tender and soft. I tried it again on two occasions a few months ago and they were no longer tender. They were very hard. I'm just surprised at their inconsistent quality. I"m not sure if it's because each cook does it differently. —KiemVu


2006-07-29 19:49:45   The chicken fried rice is excellent. —DaveCar


2006-08-01 18:36:21   FROM ONE CHINESE SISTAR TO ANOTHER, GO FOR THE FIVE SPICE BEEF NOODLE SOUP. it'll remind you of home. —EmilyTung


2006-08-27 17:47:02   I heart heart the Chef Noodle salad!! Also the Dan Dan is signature goodness. —ThuHo


2006-09-03 22:55:02   I'll start my review by saying that I've probably had too much good chinese food from LA so I'm biased. I had the Marco Polo and it was okay; it was a little too salty for my tastes. The fried pork chop with noodle had a soup base that was reminiscent of instant noodle (sorry). Perhaps I should have tried some other items on the menu. The prices were fair though and I would eat here again, but probably try some other things on the menu. It was pretty crowded as well! —KatYu


2006-10-21 12:21:39   Mmmm... the Dan Dan Noodles. They were great. Plus, I really felt I got the value of my $5— there were a ton of noodles! —StacieTownsend


2006-10-21 12:23:26   The service is too good —AlJean


2006-10-26 19:26:35   This is probably my favorite restaurant in davis. The 5 Spice beef is delicious (I love soups so the broth and noodles were fantastic). The green onion pastry is supurb! Bowls are quite large (just a forewarning!) Service has always been quick and really friendly. I highly recommend the place _UnhappyStudent


2006-11-01 15:54:18   This is my new favorite chinese place in Davis. The food is fresh and tasty and the portions are generous. In my experience, the staff was quite courteous. I highly recommend all of the dumplings as well as the chow mein and Szechuan Eggplant. Please, lets keep this great place open!! —GradStudent06


2006-12-03   I went here today and had the Sichuan Chicken with rice. While it was very good, it was a little overwhelming on my tastebuds. Still, I can see myself coming back and trying some of the other things on the menu. I do have to say service was both excellent as well as polite. It felt great dining here. —ClaytonRehmus


2006-12-11 23:26:33   Best little kept secret in Davis. Food is consistant and the service is what keeps me coming back for more. The beef is chewy and fatty- they should use a higher quality of beef, especially with the scare of mad cow disease. Use a local beef from an all natural beef farm. Another thing though...I wish the staff/cooks would not assemble food in the restaurant area. It kinda grossess me out to see their hands in my potential meal. I do not want to see ANY precooked food coming in the front door. Please! Not a good idea for new customers to see that. Use your backdoor only for deliveries. —NoelWasicki


2006-12-13 20:37:06   I love this place. Good prices for lunch time and the portions are large. The vegetable curry, however, tastes strangely like the boxed curry you can buy at the supermarket. Oh well, the food is great and the restaurant is small and personal, I love it! —JohnHumperdinkle


2006-12-20 10:52:05   A great place for veg food. If you like food a little spicy try the Hunan tofu with noodles. The best Chinese food in town. —ScottWeintraub

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.