Dos Coyotes/2006 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

Reviews of Dos Coyotes left in 2006.


2006-01-02 22:17:51   I've been going here (North Davis) once every few months since ~1995. I've always enjoyed the food, but the noise at both the North Davis and South Davis locations is too much for me. I can't hear anything my companions are saying over all the echoed din. —GrahamFreeman


2006-01-04 09:13:17   A few more comments: The North Davis location is often busier/noisier than the South Davis location. The food is the same though, so I'll often go to the South Davis one just because it's quieter. Most of my friends who have tried the quesadillas have been disappointed. I should also note: the salads are HUGE. —AlexPomeranz


2006-01-09 10:14:23   I eat at the South Davis location often. My only major gripe is that you can't have your chips before your meal. I like eating the chips and talking with my friends in anticipation of getting my food. A little thing, but it could be fixed. —GrumpyoldGeek


2006-01-09 13:17:33   Their "zesty white cream sauce" tastes like watered down mayonaise. Their red enchilada sauce tastes like water down ketchup. —MichaelGiardina


2006-02-02 02:29:19   I've never been disappointed with this place. Ever. And I've been to 5 out of 6 of them. I love the atmosphere of the place too. Plus it's close to my dorm room! —EricHayes


2006-02-11 22:50:32   We ate here and at El Mariachi, and the food was much better at El Mariachi. The South Davis Dos Coyotes was incredibly loud and hectic, and I think the food was about $1 per person more than at El Mariachi. I think the only plus for this place is that they have margaritas. But some people like Tex-Mex a lot more than I do, so for them, maybe it's more appealing. —DanielBrown


2006-02-26 22:03:53   I used to work for Dos Coyotes, I worked there for almost a year but one thing I found was particulary impressive is that EVERYTHING is made fresh. Every morning the cook staff gets there at 7:00 am and chops tomatoes for salsa and preps everything themselves. —CrystalSanchez


2006-03-16 16:55:48   I went there for the first time today and I feel compelled to write about it. This was the worst southwestern/Mexican food I've had since I moved to Davis and perhaps the worst ever. I ordered the cheese enchilada plate and the food was AWFUL. Overall it was bland and flavorless. The tomatoes and the salsa were mushy. The chips tasted like they came out of a bag, and most importantly the enchiladas were the worst things imaginable. I used to think it was impossible to screw up a cheese enchilada. I was wrong. First off they used flour tortillas (blasphemy). This lead to a gummy flavor and texture. And the "ranchero sauce" had the look and consistency of vomit (and it didn't taste much better either). I implore you, one and all, if you want good southwestern or Mexican food go to Chuy's in Winters, Guadalajara, or even Chipotle would be better. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. —SteveKent


2006-03-16 16:57:53   And El Mariachi is good too. ...can't believe I forgot about El Mariachi. —SteveKent


2006-09-27 12:19:12   (in reference to the South Davis location) I had their Market Burrito, which cost $5.93 (after tax). It was definitely filling, but I felt as though there was too much rice and not enough salsa. It kind of lacked flavor. Also, the burrito was haphazardly folded and ended up being very messy. The chips were ok, but I did not get too many. I prefer The Guad (South Davis) and Taqueria Davis, so far. —CaseyBarc

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.