Dos Coyotes/2007 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are archived reviews of Dos Coyotes from 2005. For more recent comments, please visit the entry.


2007-01-13 13:00:52   Reading these comments make me laugh. I've been going to dos for the last 14 years...without a terrible experience...True davisites love dos. First of all....anyone who orders a cheese enchilada has got to be a moron!!!! My favorites include the green chile stew (especially when I have a cold or its really chilly out)...and I also am a super big fan of anything with steak in it...whoever said theres more to try than a border burrito is right...there are SO many more options...dos is only for those who have balls enough to handle it...not for whining babies.. —ChristieKent

Why do you say anyone who orders a cheese enchilada have to be a moron?? Well I agree with you if you're ordering it at Dos... -CM


2007-01-13 13:04:41   oh and im pretty sure (meaning 99.9 percent sure) that the other coyotes is NOT his ex wife —ChristieKent


2007-03-01 09:11:22   unless you're getting a salad, this place is pretty bad. Their burritos were pretty much all rice. Their southwest salads are decent. The best tacos can be found at el paisano taco truck in woodland. As far as southwest food goes, this is the only place in Davis, but better southwest can be found in any major city. —MattHh


2007-03-01 11:39:26   Watch out for rusted chairs at the South Davis location. No seriously! Most of the outdoor chairs are falling apart. It's something they need to fix before a customer gets injured. Doesn't Davis have laws against this kind of negligence? The food isn't great, either. —NumiaCairaguas


"2007-04-08"   Personally, I am a big fan of Dos Coyotes! My boyfriend always orders their HUGE chicken ceasar salad (you can tear off the giant tortilla it comes with to make your own salad wrap!). I also like any of their burritos with STEAK (I am willing to pay extra because it's delicious and the best meat they have), their combination taco plates, and the blue chip nachos. The quality of regular chips vary from time to time, and we stay away from their quesadillas (too cheesy), but overall, this place has friendly and quick service, fresh quality foods, and big portions. We usually go to the S.Davis one because it's roomier, but the N.Davis location has a better salsa selection. —noahsark


2007-06-10 22:15:32   I like the North Davis one better than the South Davis one because of the service. I have had no problems with the North Davis one. But I can't say that for the South Davis one. I ordered a burrito: beans, rice, sour cream and extra guacamole. When I opened it up and started eating it...guess what it was inside...RICE ONLY. So what, okay they messed up the order...it happens. I went back...the guy that took my order questioned me and said he didn't understand my order in the first place (I don't understand how that can be, but he should have asked when he was taking the order). The manager looked and me and said "well it looks half eaten". Anyways, after a whole bunch of eye rolling they gave me another burrito. What they should have said is "yes we fucked up...and sorry...heres another one...the one you ordered in the first place". And said it with a freaking smile. —Hoodie


2007-06-21 21:46:14   Went to the North Davis location, and in short, I doubt I'll go back. First, this was one of those menus with several items slightly different from one another, and you are left to figure out how they are different. (I was looking at the burritos). Not a big deal, but annoying. Second, the place is noisy. Not (necessarily) lots-of-customers-talking noisy, but even without many customers (as there the day I was there), there is a loud hum (some kind of fan?), plus music, plus high ceilings to echo everyone's voices, trying to talk over the other noise. It just wasn't pleasant. Third, the food wasn't bad, but it was mediocre. Really, the salsas were all that I liked; I just kept adding more salsa to my burrito, and thinking, "Why aren't we at El Mariachi?" —CovertProfessor


2007-06-22 12:05:37   I love their spinach-garlic quesadilla. It's so good I never eat the other stuff! —doggonit


2007-08-24 11:37:39   The Adobe salad is worth getting every time, with the chunky salsa:) —HakonHope


2007-08-25 20:56:54   I tried the enchiladas and the sauce reminded me of spaghetti-o's. Probably the worst enchiladas I've ever tried. Also, could the soda cups be any smaller? Pros: the soda cup was very cute, the whole restaurant was quite cute. Maybe I will try something else there someday. —MissL


2007-08-26 15:48:35   Love Dos, but make sure you count how many shrimp are in your shrimp burrito (there should be 5), sometimes they try to skimp on you. To their credit, it happened twice to me and both times, they made me another burrito. —ElisaWeller


2007-09-06 17:42:09   I always liked the Navajo Nachos, but was never a fan of the burritos. The South Davis patio area is nice, when it's kept clean. A lot of times the tables outside have salsa or stuff on them (and even a chair a couple of times >.<) —EdWins


2007-09-18 00:54:10   Went there for the first time today and ordered ranchero burrito w/ chicken + rice. found no hair. all was good. —KaiWan


2007-09-20 09:28:58   I had some fantastic soft tacos at the south dos the other day. They were excellent. I love the salsa at the south dos. The salsa in the corner is truly an amazing creation. Yum! —WesHardaker


2007-09-20 12:29:20   I LOVE DOS!!!!! i had the BEST burrito last night at south davis
THANKS STEVE!!!!!
and thanks dos for the awesome fireworks this year!!!!!!


2007-09-25 11:45:49   I went to Dos in N. Davis and have decided that I think the S. Davis location is much better. The burrito I got at N. Dos was cold and the chips really stale. The S. Dos is always good and fresh. —MyaBrn


2007-09-25 16:58:55   Went to the North Davis location this weekend and I ordered a plate of cheese enchiladas. The portions were large, but the enchilada sauce tasted exactly like Spaghetti-O's, just like MissL mentioned earlier. I've had better tasting enchiladas in the frozen section of my local Savemart. :( —CalamityJanie


2007-10-19 18:24:59   The food is pretty good, but the salsa has something to be desired. I usually end up mixing several together to get something that actually has flavor and spice, but it takes a while. The wait is very short and the restaurant itself has a great atmosphere. —LolaTorney


2007-10-28 23:01:34   I have not had a bad experience here; its a lovely place. The atmosphere is nice and really cool for that kind of restaurant, and the food is delicious. Make sure to try every kind of salsa, and ask for more chips. They are very kind there, and provide prompt service with a smile. I recommend the Shrimp Taco, and now they have a great deal on carnitas for the fall. Their cucumber mango salsa is really tasty too. Reminds me of my mom's cooking (she grew up in New Mexico). —AnnaF


2007-11-21 13:29:43   I went to the one in North Davis about 3 weeks ago and ordered a border burrito. The customer service was great but I don't think it was worth it for the price. —DavidHolcomb


2007-12-22 00:51:23   Dos Coyotes has fresh, great tasting food and excellent salsa - in fact their sweet green salsa is among my favorite salsas ever. Unfortunatley the price, while not that steep, is a little too much for me to eat their regularly with my girlfriend, but I do rather enjoy it when I go. Also people say im crazy but I find the food to be better at the South Davis location. —JakeJames

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.