Hunan/2005 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of Hunan from 2005. For more current reviews, visit the entry.

2005-01-06   SarahHillard and I went there for dinner Jan 2005, and were very very underwhelmed. Our Calimari was excellent, although it came with a pretty generic soy sauce. She ordered lemon chicken that was limp and not very lemony. I had the spicy crispy duck that managed to be dry, a fairly difficult thing to do for duck. All the food came out very late, something that they explained (after bringing out the food) was due to their burning the first duck. Despite spending $30 on dinner, there was no soup or other minor side things that normally go along with ordering two entrees. I got a plate of duck (no sauce), and she got chicken. We had to ask for rice. Lunch may well be better, but I'll not likely go again for dinner. Recommended for lemon chicken is Noodle Express. —JabberWokky


2005-02-27   I go to Hunan quite frequently and I find their food quite good. Their chow mein (limp and flavorless) and egg flower soup aside, I've found their chicken dishes to be top notch and their rice to be quite good. It's hard to beat their lunch specials — my favorite being the Zuccini Chicken in Hot Garlic sauce for $4.25. —pl


2005-02-27   My roomies and I love their Chinese Chicken Salad. Yummm. —SummerSong


2005-03-10   AFAIK, Hunan uses MSG in their food, so keep that in mind if you or your prospective dinner companion(s) are sensitive to it. —RussBowlus


2005-04-07   Portions of dishes here are smaller than at other places, such as Jade Garden. However, Hunan arguably has the best atmosphere and a more varied menu than other "Chinese" restaurants in Davis. There really is no authentic Chinese food here....a sad fact... —CynthiaHe


2005-04-17   My girlfriend (Isabel Garcia) and I went to Hunan's for dinner and the waiter, the one who is usually quite brusque and acts like it is trouble just to serve you, gave us a delightful demonstration of how the Hunan's napkins are folded. Very impressive. —CameronMenezes


2005-05-05   Had dinner there the other night, and the service was horrible. I will not be going back. And make sure you if you use a credit card you check your transaction after dinner because they over charged me, and added themselves a nice tip. —JeffNakamura


2005-05-05   Wow, guys. Watch out. Jeff, I thought it was just an accident but they over-charged my credit card as well. The bill was at least 10$ over the appropriate price. I wonder if they do this, expecting college students won't notice? —MichaelGiardina


2005-05-14   The food is good and great portions for its price (for lunch anyway, never been to dinner). And they do serve soup as part of the lunch special. But they've always had horrible service. The usual waiter is pretty much a jerk, acts like it's a huge indignition to do anything. But *do* check your credit card. Of the 9 or 10 times I've had lunch there, they've only done it once so I figured it was an accident til I saw your guys comments. That's not cool at all. Also, they tax extra. A dish that's 4.95 is charged at 5.40, which is 9.01% tax. I know it's chump change (about 8 cents extra), but still. —ES


2005-05-21   the lunch specials are huge, and cheap. But the quality was almost at the level of a panda express, wok and roll, or mr chans. it seems like fast food chinese quality with larger portions and nice decour. the meals ive had here were generally cheap enough so that i payed in cash, however the thing about the tax seems odd. tax is charged by the city or state, and is a fixed rate, so if they are charging more for tax they are pocketing it. —MattHh


2005-06-17   Absolutely disgusting. The food hear is so far from being authentic it's sad. But then again, as any Chinese-american can attest to, sometimes you just want that "disgusting" americanized Chinese food, culinary masochism at its best. The value really is damned good, whenever i want "bad Chinese" this is where i go —AlvinTsao


2005-08-16   I saw someone have to get up and get their own water at lunch. Tsk, tsk. I don't remember Hunan being so bad. I am actually starting to miss the server that would hover and steal your soup before you were done with it. At least someone was paying attention then. >=S —JulieEickhof


2005-08-27   The quality is not that good but I kinda like it for atmosphere. Most chinese food is the same to me ... there's a place in Sacramento called Kim Hei that is kind of your standard run of the mill place that has about as equal atmosphere but better food; it's the only place I noticed a difference in Chinese food quality. I like Hunan because they have lunch and dinner specials that make sense. —SS


2005-12-16   Went here once and will never return again. They cleaned the table right before me and my friend sat down. It was still filthy. They could have at least taken a damp rag to wipe it off. Then the male service basically threw our silverware and cups on the table, split water everywhere. Finally got our food which the honey walnut prawns are ok, House of Chang is better. Took forever to get the check and take out boxes. Not a happy camper —JoAnnaRich

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.