Kathmandu Kitchen/2009 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of Kathmandu Kitchen from 2009. For more current reviews, visit the entry.


2009-01-14 00:22:27   I enjoyed their korma. They also have pretty good naan and serve their meals in hearty portions. A little bit on the pricier end for college students, but it's worth the cost every once in a while. —AmanpreetSingh


2009-03-26 19:59:09   I enjoyed the aloo tikki, but not the same as off of a street vendor in Chandigar (oh well, I'll settle, heh). I really enjoyed the chicken tikka, but that's a given. I only wish they weren't so stingy on the meat... no kidding, there was maybe five bite-sized pieces of chicken in the entire dish. Also, I loved the puri. —DirtDiver


2009-03-30 17:04:38   good food but never enough meat, service isn't always the nicest but rarely do they mess up, all in a ll a good place. —piratechef


2009-04-03 14:35:11   I'm a little surprised to hear complaints about the service. They've always been very friendly + professional to me. Perhaps not overtly "social" or out-going, but I've always gotten what I wanted when I wanted it. (Sole exception: large take out orders, which have consistently been 15-30 minutes late.) This place has been up/down over the last 4-5 years... started high, then hit a low point a few years back when service became incredibly slow, and food quality dropped. But the last 12 months, in my opinion, has been a consistent high for them. The food's great, the naan is delicious again, and service has finally sped up. This is one of my favorites in town. —ChonT


2009-04-12 16:50:04   I am in utter disbelief at the incredibly poor service and even poorer food quality... I've been coming to Kathmandu Kitchen for almost seven years, now, and never have I had a more disappointing dining experience at a restaurant in my life than this past week. My friend and I had a hankering for their once-delicious chicken tikka masala, so we opted to go there for lunch. As an extra precaution, I called ahead of time to see if they were serving dinner entrees as well as the lunch buffet, and I was assured that, yes, dinner was also being served. When we got there, we were seated immediately, but that was the end of the prompt and courteous service. We waited for almost 20 minutes before our order was taken, and in that time we saw numerous waiters and the notoriously b*tchy waitress go over to the water/silverware/napkin table and put together little sets, chit-chat, or pick up water pitchers to take to other tables. When the b*tchy waitress noticed that our water glasses were almost empty, she poured what was left in her water pitcher into my glass (lukewarm, with no ice left), and never came back to refill my friend's glass. When she did her "water rounds" the second time, she walked by our table. As she passed by (She was so close that I could have reached out and punched her, if I'd been so inclined... I was sorely tempted.), I spoke up in a very audible voice and asked her if she wouldn't mind refilling my friend's glass, but she refused to meet my gaze, or fill the glass. In other words, she INTENTIONALLY ignored me. Finally, a busboy noticed that we were getting antsy, so he summoned a nicer, older waiter over to our table to take our order and fill our glasses. We then waited another 30 minutes for our food to arrive, and had to ask again for our water glasses to be filled. When our food arrived, it was disgusting beyond belief. The tikka masala sauce was watery and bland, and the chicken tasted like it'd been left out to dry on the asphalt for a couple of days. The only edible item was the naan, which is a no-brainer to make. Amidst friends' horror stories of cockroaches found in food, rodent problems, and the mold/mildew issue due to plumbing issues (A friend of mine worked on their plumbing while they were closed up a few years ago and told me how disgusting it was.), this was the last straw. Needless to say, we told our waiter about how disappointing the food was, left a $0.24 tip, and we will not be giving this restaurant any of our money ever again. Perhaps you should have a word with your parents about this, Sneha... —cas


2009-04-12 23:45:21   I've had many good experiences there, including in the recent past. The food really is great, and I've never seen something that *shouldn't* be there. —IDoNotExist


2009-04-13 13:12:46   Just to corroborate some of the negative service comments here. I've only been here once for dinner because I've heard they have the only decent Indian food in Davis. The food was pretty good, kind of hit or miss. My girlfriend had a dinner salad, which was nothing special and wasn't very fresh even though it cost much higher than average. The service was one of the slowest I've ever experienced, for both taking our order and getting our food to us. I haven't gone back because the food wasn't that great, it was way overpriced for the quality, and I just don't have that kind of time to waste. The restaurant was NOT crowded, there were only two other tables besides us. —KellyM


2009-04-20 13:54:10   Made the mistake of trying their (new?) delivery service a couple weeks ago. Now mind you, they *charge* for this delivery service (an additional $3 on top of your bill), but it took them 85 minutes to deliver an order within Davis. I had called right at 5 before there could have been any dinner crowd at all to slow things down, and had been quoted 20 minutes on the phone, which seemed unrealistic, but 85 minutes? The food (which I'm used to not being that great, just okay) arrived cold, of course, and the portions were notably smaller than they are in the restaurant. Disappointing all around. II think I'm done with Kathmandu - I don't understand why this restaurant survives when the food is only 'eh' most of the time and the service is SO bad. There is much better Indian food on the new hot food buffet at the co-op, and you don't have to put up with the always-discontented waitresses. —calvin2


2009-07-23 05:18:42   There's this bitchy woman who works there. She scowls all the time! But everyone else is really nice, and the food is delicious! But I stopped going for a little while b/c I got tired of her looking at me like that. I was scared of her! —Ilovetacos


2009-08-03 11:17:34   I had dinner at Kathmandu a couple nights ago. I've never encountered the slow service or the bad waitress attitude at Kathmandu that several others here have commented about. I found the service fast and attentive as usual. My servers (I had two—a man and a woman) weren't overly warm or friendly. I'd call them neutral and efficient, which is good enough for me. I've never been to the lunch buffet; only to dinner. I don't know if that's the difference...maybe a different staff at lunch? —SteveGreen


2009-08-03 11:28:33   I still love the food here, but I sometimes have a really tough time getting things like refills on water. Checks show up very fast, but other stuff does not. They just seem to forget sometimes. The food is amazing though... —IDoNotExist


2009-09-13 22:42:39   This was my first Indian cuisine experience so I have nothing to really compare this restaurant too. I went for Sunday lunch with a few friends who have never eaten Indian food either, hoping that they served the lunch buffet, but it was not offered during weekends. It took a while for the waiters to come take our orders, and the food took a while to come out even though the restaurant was pretty empty. It seemed they are doing renovations to the building interior, which caused the place to smell like acetone. Anyways, the food was pretty good and I was pleasantly surprised. I got the lamb tikka masala and I loved the sauce, especially with the naan bread. The portions were not lacking, however it came with a high price. Service was attentive after we received our food, and it seemed that the waiter or manager noticed our inexperience with this style of cuisine so they made an extra effort to talk and answer our questions about the food. Will be returning, but for the buffet because it's cheaper and I want to try other dishes w/o paying a hefty bill. —BenLee


2009-09-15 15:32:47   I recently ate a vegetarian dish here. The food tasted excellent, and the service was great. However, I was sick for about a week afterward. I can't say for sure that it was caused by the food, but my GI problems started several hours after I had dinner at Kathmandu. —striker

I'm not allergic to anything. Normally when food poisoning lasts that long, it's bacterial.


2009-10-08 17:58:59   The food is consistently very good in all the ways one can get it. I have had take out, dined in, and frequently visit the farmers market booth on Saturdays (ah lamb curry is a good way to start a weekend.) The staff is professional and helpful. The food comes out deliciously, meaning it takes time to prepare such high quality food. I watched the chief in the kitchen (I had come in earlier than my pick up time, food was ready exactly at the time quoted previously) and it was clear to me that making good food is the goal. At this point I make it a goal to have something different each time I visit. —csy


2009-11-08 20:50:43   Best indian place in town! We've been long time indian food connoisseurs, and we agree that this is the best place to enjoy quality indian food in davis. The atmosphere is amazing, the servers are caring and friendly, and the food is phenomenal. We like eating at home, so we usually do take out...we order the chicken tikka masala, chicken vindaloo and garlic cilantro naans...they are always ready very fast, and we never have to wait to pick them up. If you are dining in, i recommend the mango lassi (its like a creamy mango yogurt smoothie)..it really compliments their spices well. Although it isnt the cheepest place in town, it certainly has the best quality....perfect for dates and celebrations. If you love spicy food, you will love this place. However, if your spice shy, you will also love it because you can order mild and it is really really awesome.

Go here! —mrandmrs


2009-11-11 11:02:06   The lunch buffet is one of the best deals in town. I also enjoy their veggie curry platter at the Farmers' Market. I crave their somosas! —GJC02


2009-11-19 12:37:53   I rarely eat out, but when I do, I usually go to the Kathmandu buffet. So, clearly I like the food. I've probably gone a dozen times in all; all were good experiences except yesterday. Sadly, I must report that my friend and I both got sick from eating there yesterday (at the buffet), food poisoning symptoms. This meal was the only thing in common that we consumed. Delicious food with a non-negligible chance of food poisoning: it makes me hesitate to go back (even though I'll probably give it another try). —livegreen


2009-12-12 22:15:32   I just had a extremely horrible experience here. I wasn't charged once, but THREE times for one bill. First they charged for another person's more expensive order, then they charged me for my order. and when i look at my online bank account on my iphone, they charge me for my order again!! they said my refund would come in 2 days, but really, i would rather have that $40 in my account now. i was charged $65 instead of the supposedly $18. and when i showed the manager that he charged me a third time on my iphone, he said it was impossible and that once the bill charges, it is closed. Well it still shows 3 charges on my bank account. He told me just to call back if i have a problem. i live in sf and its xmas break ok, so this is very inconvenient. the waitress MAYA(i think that's her name)was the worst. she looks thai or cambodian and was super rude. she didn't even apologize for over charging me. and when i asked for the refund receipt she said no, crumbled it up, and threw it on the table in an angry manner in addition to throwing my check on the table. why would she be angry with me if she was the one that made the mistake. i was polite when i told her the bill she charged me wasn't mine. this isn't the first time, she is always grumpy and mean mugs. every time i was here, i wished that she wasn't my waitress but i guess my wishes were rarely granted =( i guess i will less frequent this place. that's too bad because the food here is really good. the other waitresses are very polite and worth tipping at least. —tapioca.queen


2009-12-14 09:51:52   Tried their online delivery option last night - waited 90 minutes before calling and was told that there was "no record" of my order. Do not recommend this service, especially after inputting my personal info and credit card info online. —ejb


2009-12-14 10:22:00   Excellent food and friendly service. I don't think I've ever ordered the same thing twice in 6-8 visits, and I've enjoyed every meal. The speed of the service varies a bit - sometimes it's very fast, others it takes a long time to get your food. They do run out of the beers they have listed on tap fairly frequently, but with a little luck you can enjoy some tasty Sierra Nevada Pale Ale or IPA. Prices are fair. I've got to agree with a number of the people here that this is the best Indian food in town. —TomGarberson

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.