Little Prague/2006 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of Little Prague from 2006. For more current reviews, visit the entry.


2006-01-12 17:51:55   Last night, some people went in and threw the bar's bathroom stuff into the back alley. Sure it was rude, but it was even worse when the owner decided to yell "GO FUCK YOURSELVES". Nice chairs in the bar though...realy nice. —RohiniJasavala


2006-01-13 01:08:54   I went to Little Prague for dessert this evening, we had cheesecake and some strange green cake with marzipan. They have two displays (one in the bar and one in the main area) filled with yummy items made by the owner's wife. It is nice to find some homemade dessert with many places selling previously frozen cake these days. If dinner is too pricey for you, try dessert there some evening! —DanWillenbring


2006-01-29 20:12:00   The duck nuggets here are awesome. And they use Absolut in their cocktails, which are cheaper than the crappy Smirnoff-tainted cocktails at Bistro 33ApolloStumpy


2006-02-14 15:09:05   I've probably had every kind of cake they offer here. The strange green cake Dan W. was referring to is almost certainly princess cake...and boyyyyy is it delicious. Seriously guys, princess cake. Ordering it can be a little emasculating, but it's a small price to pay. French Pear cake is very good too. Without question, the best dessert you can get in Davis. As for the other food here, I've only had breakfast and it's pretty average. —RyanLeverenz


2006-03-06 13:19:45   I love how one day Apollo is like "f them" and the next day is raving about their duck nuggets. —JaimeRaba


2006-03-06 14:05:45   Went there Sunday. both meal and dessert was good but the dessert was better. Had the napoleon with berries and choco cake. —MyaBrn


2006-03-17 11:22:55   The owner's name is Vaclav (pr: VaSlav). Treat him with respect, and you'll get it back. My friends and I go there all the time, and while he was cold at first, he's pretty nice to us now. Think about it, his job involves drunk college students who do things like throw his bathroom stuff into an allley. He owns and runs a pretty nice place, so I cut him some slack. Breakfasts are SO better than Caffe Italia, which is really no better than a Dennys, in food or atmosphere, which is another area in which Little Prague shines. My favorite part: rude, righteous patrons don't get the customary "we're so sorry" from the manager, they get asked to leave. Right on, Vaclav. —DavidBenjamin


2006-03-17 12:43:22   Ditto. Vaclav rocks. Although he's not the only owner with that attitude. This town certainly doesn't have a shortage of kids who think they're entitled to being treated like royalty. —JeremiahBurney


2006-04-04 03:09:29   I think I prefer the atmosphere of the bar area to the restaurant next door. The Sacha (sp?) Torte is delicious and moist, and the ganache was perfect. The Princess Cake was almost too pretty to eat with the thick green fondant and bright red raspberry cream layer in between thick white cream and moist white cake. The bartenders (9:30-12mn) are very friendly. I highly recommend this place and I'll definitely be back to try the rest of the cakes on their extensive menu! —JennaChan


2006-04-08 23:38:33   Little Prague is my favorite bar for a laid back atmosphere. It's got a comfortable vibe and nice employees, plus as far as I know, there's no cover for going there, which is always appreciated. —SS


2006-04-11 14:11:06   I forgot to add that when the owner spoke with my date and me, he said that they don't have any set closing times. If there is a lot of business, they'll stay open for as long as most of them stick around. Even though the official closing time on Mondays is 10pm, they didn't kick us out until midnight, even though we were the last two patrons at the bar! —JennaChan


2006-04-18 16:57:04   went here with my girlfriend's family for dinner, felt INCREDIBLY bad when i saw how expensive the menu was. would not go here unless you have deep pockets and particularly enjoy bohemian food. down the street there's a subway you can indulge it, for MUCH less. —ArlenKwong


2006-04-21 14:20:44   The strudel part of the apple strudel was flavorless! The whole thing was a little bland. The chocolate fudge cake with raspberry didn't have much raspberry in it and was unimpressive overall. The duck nuggets were excellent, but pricey- what else can one expect from an "upscale" joint? My friend and I have come here so often for supper that the bartenders, who are very friendly and good-looking, know our faces, but that tall skinny guy seems to forget his customers' existence sometimes. I have not had a bad experience with the owner yet. Even the bouncers are cool people! —JennaChan


2006-04-24 14:41:22   IMO, the owner is really nice once he sees you regularly. I think he's just trying to avoid his bar turning into something as base as Sophia's. —RohiniJasavala


2006-06-09 18:13:06   I have to say thumbs up to the princess cake. Man, soo delicious. Also, the happy hour is great since it includes 1/2 off appetizers as well. Too bad it ends at 5:30p! —YawenChen


2006-06-09 20:22:39   I don't believe in God, but while the princess cake is in my mouth, I seriously consider it. —KenjiYamada


2006-07-11 15:44:15   The princess cake is good, but the strawberry sacher torte is hands down the best dessert they serve, I highly recommend it —ShaunaMcKellar


2006-07-30 09:08:36   I've only been tot he bar once and we had a really awesome bartender named Kevin. He made up drinking on the fly, let my friends name them and then brought out to our table better garnishes that better fit the drinks he had created. I also found that they are one of the only places I have been to that offers weisswurst, and it quite tasty at that. I think the food was overpriced, but the bar was fun. They we're being strict about who could in the bar due the fact we were the only real group there that night. —TracyPerkins


2006-07-30 11:31:14  I've been to Little Prague at least half a dozen times or more, and the only thing consistent about this bar is their inability to make drinks and their rudeness. Seriously, I've never been to a bar where the bartenders were so inept! If you're not ordering a Czech beer (which I would recommend)- then don't even think about going to this place for drinks. While the atmosphere is really nice, if I'm going to spend that kind of cash on a bar bill I'm going to go to Sophia's where the bartenders know what they're doing. Apparently, rude service is as much of the atmosphere at Little Prague as long waits are at Bistro. —JasonBell



2006-08-24 07:23:01   Their mushroom soup is amazing and so is their chicken something-or-other...good thing my friend treated me to dinner though, because my wallet would have bitten off my hand knowing how ridiculously expensive my meal was—God save me! —EliseKane


2006-09-22 20:16:45   2006-09-22 Tonight ended our patronage at Little Prague. Our appetizers took an hour and 15 mins to arrive at our table. Twice we asked about the status and were told that they were coming. When we asked the waiter to comp the order, he spoke with two people and finally returned to say, "We're sorry...yada yada...we're busy...do you want some bread?" BREAD! This business is willing to lose a table of seven good customers for a $6.25 plate of appetizers. That's really bad business and we will never return. —LisaKrebs


2006-11-08 20:59:02   my boyfried loves this place. I think it is alright —AnnThiNguyen


2006-11-09 11:51:44   We used to love it when Stas Wisnach played accordian on Fri, Sat and Sun. nights. Stas is a polish american accordian legend from Detroit. I still listen to his CD, 10 Fingers of Stas. —AdamFlowers


2006-11-14 23:13:41   There are many reasons why people should not go to this place. 1.) the food for the mostpart is NOT that great and is horribly expensive. Most of the food (czech nuggets, potato salad, schnitzels) is just pre-made stuff bought at Costco. Some of the food is decent, but not worth the price at all. 2.) The owner is one of the rudest, most brutish people I have ever encountered. He treats EVERYONE like crap, employees and customers included. Granted, there are a select few that he's actually nice to which further perplexes me because this does show that he does have the capacity (as small as it is) to be civil and act in a humane manner. But if you're not part of that select 1% or so, watch the hell out. He'll use any excuse to go into profanity-laced temper tantrum. He's the worst towards his employees. As a former food service employee I tell all of my friends to stay away from that place based off of how poorly he treats his employees. —DavisDavis


2006-11-14 23:13:41   I went here for the 5+ years that I lived in Davis, mostly because I'm 1/2 Slovak and czech/slovak restaurants are rare to say the least. The food has always been pretty good. The potato pancakes are fairly tasty. However, I am a bit of a stickler when it comes to things like Paprikash, since I do have my grandmother's as a basis of comparison. All in all the food is decent and worthwhile if you've never had Eastern European food before. It is pricey, so repeat visits are unlikely unless you really love it. I recommend the Goulash for those who are new to Czech food.

One more thing, the owner has always been an arrogant ass to me. For example, the last time I ever went there, my last night in Davis, he refused to seat us, saying he was too busy and made us (my girlfriend and I) wait at the bar. It was pretty clear he just wanted us to go there to buy drinks. It seemed to be really unclassy as a business owner to try to extort your customer as such. His son often waits (very Eastern Euro looking, bulkier and a little shorter than his dad) at the restaurant and it's hard to believe they are related. His son is infinitely nicer. —AndrewMatey


* Costco's potato salad is vomitously bad, so I find it hard to believe that any restaurant would use it. Also, I've never seen duck nuggets at Costco. Do you know the brand name or in what section you can get it? —CraigBrozinsky

* I used to work there, they get a lot of their stuff at Costco and I don't know if they specifically get their duck nuggets there, but it's either there or some other wholesale foods place. In other words, they come frozen and they are just heated up in a microwave. As for the potato salad, go to LP and order a dish with it and you'll see what I'm talking about. It's the exact same type you can buy by the tub at Safeway, Costco, etc. In other words, they don't make it there. The desserts are pretty much the only thing that they make in-house, besides some of the sauces and some other random stuff. Most of it is frozen from a food wholesale place (like Costco). —DavisDavis


2006-12-24 13:28:20   Last week I had their black forest cake....DELICIOUS. It's hard to pick something away from the princess cake, but this was perfectly chocolatey. —RohiniJasavala

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.