London Fish'n Chips/2007 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are archived reviews of London Fish'n Chips from 2007. For more recent comments, please visit the entry.

2007-01-01 19:26:54   really fresh fried oysters, the fish is also very good. The other seafood items and fries are average as far as fried foods go. The owner is really nice and the atmosphere is quite unique. Heres a good tip; i like to split a fried meal here (oysters and fish) and a chefs noodle salad from davis noodle city with a friend. Since they are owned by the same people, they dont seem to mind you eating the foreign food in either restaurant. This is good if you dont like eating a full meal of fried foods but love the flavor —MattHh


2007-03-06 23:33:34   I miss Winnie and Mr. Lee. It's no longer the same. I quit going to the place. —MikeWong


2007-04-14 12:07:48   $6 pitchers of beer...fried snickers bars and good fish and chips...I need a minute to compose myself...dammit I told myslef I wasn't going to cry! —rpatte


2007-06-10 18:49:18   I saw this place while walking around downtown last week and figured I would try it sometime. Finally got around to eating here today and let me tell you Best Fish and Chips I've had in a really long time. The people are really nice and make you feel welcome. The food is excellent as well. I was surprised how big the fish was, Great value and Great service. I will be coming back in the near future for more delicious fish and chips. —DavidHolcomb


2007-07-09 13:21:16   They also have Hawaiian shaved ice! I had a strawberry one yesterday, and I am going to go back today for another. It was only a dollar and some change, and a GREAT treat during the hot and unbearable Davis summer heat. —CAkita


2007-07-17 23:42:56   I finally tried this place after passing this place on my way to Noodle City. I just kept thinking how this place is able to stay open in a town mostly consisting of educated folks. I didn't think too many educated health concious folks would be interested in deep fried foods. The food was alright. I was surised by how much they gave. I'm just not a fan of fried foods. —JohnWong


2007-07-22 18:27:39   This place is a reeealllyy good fish n chips place. Worth the price. You should try the deep-friend snickers bar. So bad for you, but soooo good. =D —AlexandraDeGrange


2007-08-31 01:26:11   I was their paper girl for a few years back when it I think it was owned by Winnie, and every day she gave me a free drink. She was one of the sweetest people on my route. And she saw me delivering papers after she sold it to Mr. Lee and bought me a bottle of water to "make it up to me". This lady was so nice! —Bailey


2007-09-28 23:50:12   I LOVE the owners, they are sweet, wonderful people. I love the 6 prawns with crispy fries too! —cinhuynh


2007-10-01 21:05:43   Of course, this is not exactly the healthiest of meals, but the portions were quite large (each piece of fish is pretty darn big, and you get a lot of chips, aka fries for us Americans), especially for the price. And it's as good as battered fried fish can be (personally, I prefer my fried fish dipped in breadcrumbs, but what are you gonna do? you take what you can get). I'd like it if the fish were served with lemon, although it is available. The guy behind the counter was very friendly and helpful. —CovertProfessor


2007-10-02 00:01:30   The only place in Davis where I have had a full out bad experience dining was here. I went in to order my food, then paid, then waited for it to be ready. After about 8 minutes had gone by I asked them if it was ready yet. They then told me to pay them more money. Confused, I reminded them that I had paid when I'd ordered - just minutes before hand. They then claimed to have not seen me before (which was ridiculous, considering that I had just paid, and the place was not crowded), then they started ignoring me as more customers came in. I refused to let them brush me off, though, and continued to request either the food that I had paid for or my money back. At this point they began getting overtly sarcastic and rude to me, about 40 minutes later they finally gave me part of my order - for "free" they mocked. Horrible and rude staff. I understand that people in a restraunt can get swamped with customers, but when you take people's money you have an obligation to give them what they paid for. And I did not pay to be verbally attacked. Its a shame that there's no rival fish and chips place in town - perhaps then they'd show more politeness to customers. —JoseBleckman


2007-10-19 21:42:29   Their food is DELICIOUS. Go there. And the people are so nice too. —vanessa


2007-10-30 17:21:39   I've always had great service here, and that's why I always come back. If you think about it, fish and chips are just horrible for you. It's just grease. But when I want a tasty lunch that might kill me, I skip McDonalds and BK...why? All about the service. One time, I ordered a One Piece Fish and Chips. Without me even saying anything, the order came with TWO fish because the first one that was cooked was too small. —GunIk


2007-11-03 20:29:16   went here today, they gave me two pieces of fish, i only ordered one. the fish was good. —kelvinkay


2007-12-19 19:50:37   Still good after all the ownership changes! —thelonepiper555


2007-12-29 03:13:47   I go here whenever I feel like clogging my arteries. My girlfriend and I usually order the 3 piece fish (comes with a good amount of fries) and some side order such as prawns or onion rings. The portions served are quite good for the price of the food and we end up stuffed. The fish and chips are always deep fried to perfection and all the side orders we have tried have been good (stick with the meals for the best value). For a large amount of consistently good food at a low price, this place is hard to beat. —BlairGoss

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.