Pi Kappa Phi

InfoInfo
Search:    

Pi Kapp Bros Hangin out.jpg

http://www.crwflags.com/fotw/images/u/us_pkphi.gif

Pi Kappa Phi (ΠΚΦ) is a fraternity on campus. It is the only Greek organization to operate its own philanthropy, [wikipedia]Push America, which serves people with disabilities. A Pi Kapp (member of Pi Kappa Phi) is a man of CLASS, which stands for Character, Leadership, Achievement, Scholarship, Service.

Pi Kappa Phi is the newest fraternity at UC Davis, with currently 25 brothers. The Class of Winter 2012 is the founding father class of the current chapter.

History

OfficialLogo.jpgOn a quiet December evening in 1904 in Charleston, S.C., three friends—Andrew Kroeg, Simon Fogarty and Harry Mixson—made a choice to lead. Those three men chose to start their own fraternity. The three grew to seven; seven grew to eight; eight grew to 11. From the College of Charleston, they spread to nearby Presbyterian in 1907—and then to California in 1909. In just over four years, Pi Kappa Phi had become a truly national fraternity. Over the course of a century, a fraternity with humble beginnings has grown into a brotherhood of more than 100,000 strong—all because three men made a choice to lead.

Pi Kappa Phi was originally founded as Nu Phi, which stood for "non-fraternity." Our founders, disillusioned with campus politics being run exclusively by fraternities, created Nu Phi as a means to attain leadership roles within the Chrestomathic Literary Society. However, the attempt to seize control of the Society was thwarted when some of the Nu Phis proved to be disloyal. The loyal Nu Phis regrouped, and on the evening of December 10, 1904, the seven remaining men created a new group—to be known as Pi Kappa Phi.

To this day, Pi Kappa Phi embraces its Nu Phi heritage. It manifests itself in various way and emboldens us as Pi Kapps to confront issues with fresh, new approaches.

Executives

Archon
Evan James Wong
ejwong@ucdavis.edu

Vice Archon
Thomas Cartwright
tjcartwright@ucdavis.edu

Treasurer
Aamir Azam
aaazam@ucdavis.edu

Secretary
Bobby Oldt
rfoldt@ucdavis.edu

Warden
Manuel Chacon
mechacon@ucdavis.edu

Historian
Blake Deal
bndeal@ucdavis.edu

Chaplain
Brian Chan
brichan@ucdavis.edu

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.