Pluto's/2007 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of Pluto's from 2007. For more current reviews, visit the entry.


2007-01-15 15:35:52   I always get a salad with some glazed walnunts, hiccima, strawberrys when they have them, sprouts, peas, corn, etc. Sooooo good. They Garlic Fries are great, and so is they spicy barbecue. Man my mouth is watering now. —StevenDaubert


2007-01-16 00:57:59   I was confused when ordering from Pluto's on Sunday. All I wanted was some tri tip and mashed potatoes. I felt pressured into ordering a salad, and when I didn't order one, it seemed like I had to wait ten minutes for the meat guy to get to my order. THEN, I clearly saw my plate waiting on the counter for five minutes before the cashier handed it over to me (this was after I paid). Such disorganization...but, on the other hand, I got a free refill on my Coke. I sat down next to the door, so I was chilly most of the night. —GreggAlexander


2007-01-24 20:21:58   What the hell kind of salad place doesn't have Thousand Island...? —AaGg


2007-02-28 18:51:38   Went here the other day. I felt more like I was flying Southwest Airlines than eating at a restaurant. Super confusing ordering process. My salad was good though. —BriannaBetancourt


2007-03-24 21:31:17   I went tonight with CharlotteHoar who is a big fan of Pluto's, but I was not impressed. The price was high, the turkey in my sammich was cold, dry and tasteless. The fries I ordered had so much garlic on them that it was kinda pointless to even have fries. They might as well have just given me some cloves of garlic. —BradBenedict


2007-03-26 08:45:28   I like the salads here. Their balsamic dressing is good, and i like the variety of unusual toppings, like several fruits. However, not only are the lines confusing if your just ordering meat it is also confusing if you are just ordering a veggie salad. You hold the salad in your hands and bipass the people waiting for meat, whose salads are not ready yet. Some stare, does anyone know if this is what your suppose to do, it gets kind of confusing. —MattHh


2007-05-02 12:46:03   LOVE THIS PLACE. this is a great place to eat, their food is good and you are very decently charged for it. It has a very nice atmosphere for lunch with friends or whomever and their foods are always fresh. This is a great place to eat if you're craving salads, sandwiches, and sides =) —trambajuice


2007-05-25 18:07:37   Very tasty and a great value for the salads. The sandwiches are good, but way too expensive for what you get. My wife and I like to split a large salad and a plate of garlic fries... Perfect!! The also have AVBC's hop-ottin' IPA on tap. Arguably the best beer in the know universe. —BillyBudd


2007-06-09 18:51:41   obviously a staple in a students life (we eat poorly and make up for it by eating pluto's salad). The salad's are great and depending on how hungry you are is just the right amount. I went today ate the whole thing and wasn't satified but i've typically brought a little back to snack on later (doesn't do well for more than half a day in the fridge so make sure to eat it before then). —heyitsdimo


2007-06-12 21:14:39   I used to inform the office that I was about to run for Garlic Fries, and did anyone else want any. A wonderful thing: the scent of five bags of garlic (with some fried potato bits) inundating the air. Only problem is that you have to jump on them fast since—if they stay in the bag longer than a few minutes—they get really soggy. Best eaten on site. —KevinChin


  Eh, the salads here are delicious and surely worth it (depending on what you make), the sides are great, the sammiches are alright, but there are better places for the price. As for the salads, they have a great selection of ingredients and such, all fresh, fennel is especially delicious. Sadly, they stopped using punch cards this year.—DavidPoole


2007-06-20 11:34:30   i love their salads, but i hate the customer service. My first time going in there was scary because its like ur playing a game, grab a card, move here, there. Then the person making the salad shouts at you, most of the time i have to repeat what i want numerous times. I cant understand what the person making the food is saying and that person always gets annoyed with me which doesnt feel very good. Some of the people working there look really mean, but good food. If u dont mind feeling bullied, food is worth it. oh and i noticed toppings on salads not labeled, they ask u what u want and u dont even know what the toppings are, u just point, saying, "that one, that one". —KimberlyMiller


2007-07-11 10:55:42   The only thing I have tried here is the Tri-Tip sandwich and I thought it was excellent...Highly reccommended —MikeJones


2007-07-14 17:54:06   The first time I tried to go here I walked in and walked out — it was a hot day and the menu just seemed overwhelming. I did take a menu to go, and studied it, so I could be ready for the next time. Most people seem to get salads here — we tried the tri-tip as a meal (get it with the BBQ sauce) and the turkey (it's nice to be able to get real turkey when it's not Thanksgiving). Both were quite good, although the portions of the tri-tip were small. We also tried the sides — there were a couple of nice vegetable sides, although the grilled one was a bit better. The stuffing (for the turkey, of course) was really good. Once we had a "knock-you-on-your-ass" lemon bar; sadly, the next time it only teetered us a bit. —CovertProfessor


2007-07-17 21:59:07   I loved the way they tossed my salad very experienced, felt so good in my tummy —dickjones


2007-08-01 14:05:59   Very popular place at the noon hour so expect long lines on occassion ,but the workers work quickly and food is served hot and on time Plutos does a great job with their salads and home cooking. I love the tri tip dip with their curly fries, the mushrooms and mash potatoes are quite tasty as well. Soups great on a cold day to eat outside while studying —ElizabethBarthel


2007-10-30 15:23:20   Great food, terrible service, and terrible layout! The type of style they have setup is not conducive to the lunch hour rushes they get. Any half-decent manager would realize that you can't have one cashier who has to serve drinks, collect money, give out food, deal with refills, and deal with dessert and complaints... It's just ludicrous. If they had decent customer service, their clientèle would triple. —JustinBaker


2007-11-04 17:53:24   Sunday, Nov 4 5pm. The food and service were simply horrible. We had been to Pluto's once before and things were "OK", but this will be the last time we set foot in there.

The salad girl was too busy chastising us for marking our cards to listen to our order properly so half our food was not ready. At the meat bar the server asked my wife what she wanted then just walked away as she was telling him.

We went tonight with my wife's 85-year-old grandmother and she tried the tri-tip. It was cold, tough and tasteless and she wound up regurgitating it in the bathroom. The chicken sausage on my salad was undercooked, cold and glutenous and to add insult to injury, my large salad was the same size as my wife's medium... I just had a bigger plate. In grandmother's words the food was "gross." She does not usually throw up from meals.... oh she just mentioned it was stringy too.

The only thing we ordered that was decent was the coffee. Place has gone far downhill since they opened. —IanMcKinnon


2007-11-05 08:20:54   I love Pluto's, but not so much during the weekends. The best time to visit Pluto's is in the middle of the afternoon on a weekday. The garlic fries with a grilled eggplant sandwich are amazing. —WillJobe


2007-11-05 09:54:47   The last two times I have been here the chicken has tasted strange and did not seem throughly cooked. I ended up picking the chicken out of my salad...Some veggies also do not seem quite as fresh- like the broccoli. —MyaBrn

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.