Society of Wiki Restaurant Reviewers

InfoInfo
Search:    

SWRR_Chaat_2005-11-11.jpgChaat Cafe 2005-11-11 SWRR-2k-2005-11-23.jpgSpy cam spots SWRR at 2k Thai Food on 2005-11-23

The Society of Davis Wiki Restaurant Reviewers (SWRR, pronounced "Sour") is a secret society of Wikians who anonymously visit Davis restaurants for the purpose of writing accurate reviews. They clandestinely make note of the food offered, friendliness, helpfulness, and speed of service, the freshness, variety, arrangement, etc. of food. They note prices, menu details, etc. All with the goal of providing honest and accurate independent information to the Davis Wiki readership. This is their only publicly released information.

Their meeting places, schedules, membership, secret handshakes, etc. are totally unknown at present. [Some have reported their secret gesture to be a finger pointing down the throat, or the pinching of the nostrils, or a hand over the crotch, but these are unconfirmed.]

All disciples work towards the highest level of achievement: the Dark Belt. No living member has yet achieved the Dark Belt level.

Some say that reading How to write an effective restaurant review is a first step in preparation for getting into the Society. The only way to get "in" is to be chosen.

I've heard it rumored that you also need to tell someone in the society that you want to be in. I take this to mean that they have not yet developed their psychic powers to the full maximum. It is also rumored that the more people join, the more psychic power the society develops.

Being a highly S.E.C.R.E.T. society, nobody knows who's a member, so there's no one to ask. Probably the best way to get noticed is to walk around doing one or more of the secret gestures mentioned above. Do this where large numbers of people will see you. A member may notice and invite you to initiation.

Comments:

Note: You must be logged in to add comments

2005-11-14 20:31:51   It seems against the communal nature of the wiki to have an "official" group like this... —JackHaskel


2005-11-14 22:07:08   It's not against the communal nature of the wiki, because if you'd like to, you can come with us, Jack! Nobody's excluded, of course. This is by wikians, for wikians. —JohnDudek


2005-11-23 12:06:10   I'd join but I'm trying not to eat out too much, being a poor college student and all. —MarieHuynh


2005-11-24 23:51:44   that photo is so unflattering, and blurry, and I think the society will be ever-changing, and anonymous.. I'd like to delete the photo but i will instead just comment —MichelleAccurso


2005-11-25 00:44:52   If the society is ever-changing, I think the picture will be as well —AlexNorris


2005-11-25 22:39:35   what a cute picture of the guys —MichelleAccurso


2005-12-07 18:25:03   Um... Meeting this Saturday, guys? I think we should. Call me. —JohnDudek


2005-12-21 03:03:54   next time could we maby perhaps visit a nice cafe? ps im wearing the 'italia' jackt right now. —AndrewBanta


2006-01-17 11:53:29   We should really have a meeting sometime soon. The eating has been put on hold long enough! Who's with me? —JohnDudek


2006-01-17 12:29:01   I'm with ya John! —AndrewBanta


2006-01-17 12:39:47   Food is better with wiki-folk. —TarZxf


2006-01-17 17:45:41   So, Tar, does that mean you're comin'? —JohnDudek


2006-01-17 22:27:37   I would like to suggest a "Cafe Tour" an outing where we sample the best, and possiably worst coffees avaliable. —AndrewBanta


2006-01-18 11:18:55   Maybe, but I don't even drink coffee. I'm still a kiddo, remember? haha —JohnDudek


2006-01-18 12:07:02   Fine us "adults" will partake. You can maby run down the street and grab a sodie pop. —AndrewBanta


2006-01-18 14:17:32   Hey, I don't drink "sodie pop". I drink soda. Either way, we should have a meeting this Saturday at lunch. —JohnDudek


2006-01-18 16:29:19   I don't know if we can make it. Michelle and I are going to see/hear Webley. He's going to be in Berkeley. That's the other direction. —AndrewBanta


2006-01-18 17:17:55   I'm not going to Berkeley though, there's hippies there! —TarZxf


2006-01-18 17:34:15   dizzam. Next weekend? —JohnDudek


2006-01-19 01:05:52   Yeah, let me see if I have that Saturday off. If not will Sunday work? —AndrewBanta


2006-03-28 21:45:54   We need to do this again. —JohnDudek


2006-05-14 14:19:38   seriously, this time. We should meet soon. I'm getting sick of not seeing everybody. —JohnDudek


2007-01-09 13:25:05   We are lazy. Steve, Michelle, Andy, we need to get this back in order again. If not during the school year, this summer for sure. It has to happen!!!! —JohnDudek


2007-01-10 13:02:35   I figured y'all slipped off the side of the earth (it is round, ya know). —SteveDavison


2007-01-11 09:45:02   I want to do this too. If unplans work out, I may leave Davis by the summer, so I would like to do this sooner if possible. How about next wednesday? —NickSchmalenberger


2007-01-18 22:28:21   McDonald's? —GreggAlexander


2007-03-02 09:44:56   how come nobody organizes this anymore? I think we should make a facebook group. —JohnDudek


2010-05-06 15:47:41   Does anybody want to have another SWRR meeting? I do. —JohnDudek


2010-08-02 14:43:23   If anyone wants to get this together again I'm all ears... and mouth. —KBathory

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.