Sophia's Thai Kitchen/2005 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of Sophia's Thai Kitchen from 2005. For more current reviews, visit the entry.


There is much debate in Davis about the merits Sophia's. I think that most of of the food flat out sucks. The only good thing they serve are the endless Iced Teas. - JackHaskel


I've never eaten at the restaurant, but I'm rather partial to the bar. They have Chimay White on tap (served in the appropriate glassware), and Duvel in the bottle for Belgian selections, along with the more typical Sierra Pale and Fat Tire on draft. There are numerous other prosaic beer choices. They of course serve a wide selection of mixed drinks, but I absolutely friggin' love Duvel and Chimay White, so I haven't had any other drinks yet. Only the appetizer menu is available at the bar. The shrimp tempura is pretty good, but isn't really tempura, since it was coated in Panko bread crumbs when I got it. Bar service is functional and prompt, which is fine by me. The atmosphere of the bar area is pretty cozy, and agreeably dark. Mmm... Duvel. - MarcRehfuss


The crispy calamari salad is superb- very generous serving of fried calamari, greens, and white rice. And it's only $7.50. - GregSmith


(id like to start out this post by saying that all the thai places i have tried in davis are generally good. you cant really go to a bad thai place here. it is done the best out of all the ethnic cuisines compared to other cities in california) when you order at sophias with another person, ask for family style. youll get more food for the same price. plus you get to share everything. thats how food was meant to be eaten. this place is good, but nothing special, as all the thai places here are good. i think i like Thai Nakorn the best out of the thai places for lunch (they have 5-6 dollar lunch specials that include rice, soup, eggroll, and fruit). for dinner most of the thai places are on the same level. however, the one thing that i like about sophias kitchen is that rice is included when ordering a la carte. most of the places around here charge extra for rice, which i view as just being cheap. - MattHh


2005-03-21 11:07:06   I have been to Sophia's a number of times. Most of the dishes I have ordered have been excellent. The Jungle Chicken, Massaman Beef, and the Boss's Favorite are all curry dishes and are very very good. —GeorgeLewis


2005-03-21 11:44:50   I love the damned Thai Iced Tea. I can't get enough of it. The only disappointment I had was yesterday when they over cooked my heavenly beef and did not apologize for it. Otherwise the food is very yum. —SS


2005-03-21 13:07:29   Ah yes, Saul has reminded me of the Thai Iced Coffee. It is an excellent drink with free refills and I highly reccommend it. —GeorgeLewis


2005-03-25 01:36:32   I used to think Sophia's was the best thai food in town.....back in high school when I didn't know a thing about thai food. The vegetarian versions of their dishes are just awful. Worst pad thai I've ever had. And for the record, 2kThai is not more expensive. Even after they drastically upped their prices (after a huge remodeling ordeal), most all of their dishes still only cost $7.25, and the portions are huge. —TerraSmithers


2005-04-18 14:00:50   Sophia's does not serve Fat Tire, unfortunately. They serve Boont Amber Ale. You can also order certain entrees if you sit at the bar. —JeffSpeckles


2005-04-30 01:10:30   On Wednesdays, if you eat dinner at the restaurant, they will give you passes to bypass the lines AND the cover. On Fridays and Saturdays, quality jazz bands (sometimes with some funky beats) play out front—$3 cover. —MeredithGlaser


2005-05-12 11:41:47   I just ate here again for the first time in a year. Their iced tea was way worse then I remembered. I drank it quick to see if the refill would be better, it wasn't. Go try the Thai iced tea at any of the other Thai places to compare. The food's not great it's decent, but this place is way overrated, especially with the massive lines for some reason. I think it's word-of-mouth: I was a freshman in the dorms this was all I had heard of for Thai food. Definitely go to 2k Thai Food or Thai Bistro instead. —EdWins


2005-05-17 02:26:00   Get the T-2 or T-6, it's freakin' delicious. —DatNguyen


2005-05-17 02:26:00   It is funny that so many people have such strong opinions about whose thai food is the best. And even funnier that some people would go so far as to say the food here sucks—that's ridiculous. What I can say about Sophia's is that their recipes are consistent, and they use good ingredients and the resulting dishes are neither greasy, nor overly sweet. Well the downside is that generally their portions are smaller (but still—large enough to leave full), and perhaps their variety is a more limited, but I actually find that their food quality is the most consistant of the Thai restaurants. (Beware of restaurants who aren't busy enough to move their ingredients fast enough!) I wish people would articulate better what their problem is with food: does its food lack in sophistication? Or does it fail to please the pallet that loves General Chicken? I think the food is generally delicious, and the recipes that Sophia herself was making when she was serving food out of the kitchen at Froggy's (then Paragon), have remained consistently good. —jr


2005-06-10 22:28:36   Stephen Hawking apparently likes it. He was giving a speech at Mondavi, and went there the night before. Apparently he liked it so much he came back the next night. —RogerClark


2005-06-12 12:06:42   They raised their prices. Everything costs a dollar more now. =( Also, my friend and I just wanted to sit there and sip thai iced tea for a while, but they wouldn't let us do it. They also would not give us free refills on it. They will, however, give you a medium sized cup to go. On a separate note, if you don't like spiciness, make sure you tell the waiter NOT SPICY! I've had so many of my dishes ruined because of misunderstandings, and they come out laden with chili oil, which really burns. —MattimusMoyus


2005-06-17 17:06:31   I think there are other good places for Thai in Davis, but Sophia's is still nice. I love that room that they have to the side where you can sit on the floor and eat. —RohiniJasavala


2005-06-24 17:01:50   I just noticed that room! I want to try it. —SS


2005-07-24 22:54:38   Every time I've eaten here I've found the Pad Thai to be really bland. Thai 2K does it a lot better in my experience. The free refills on Thai tea are the only thing that would attract me to Sophia's. —KenjiYamada


2005-07-26 17:28:04   Sophia's is pretty mediocre Thai food. I am Southeast Asian, and I KNOW their Thai food is very mild and Americanized Thai food, so it can't possibly be the best in Davis. Their service is good. I like their bottomless Thai iced teas. —MindyYang


2005-07-26 20:10:11   Yeah, pretty much the only thing going for this place is the bottomless Thai Ice Tea. And, frankly, that sells it. If you happen to own a competing Thai restaurant and read this, you can likely steal all their business by copying them on the free tea refills. —ScottRitchie


The Thai Room, that small room off to the side where you take off your shoes and sit on cushions with the pretty murals all around, is a lot of fun. My math modeling team went there for our celebration lunch this past spring. Highly recommended. —CynthiaHe


2005-08-29 10:25:04   Although not as good as some Sac Thai places (especially Thai Cottage) I like the food and atmosphere, and (has anyone mentioned this?) bottomless Thai tea. I'd rather enjoy 16 medicore cups than 1 good one. ;) —LeightonHinkley


2005-09-14 16:08:29   I have to agree with JackHaskel. I have never understood why so many people wait so long to eat at this place. The food is mediocre at best. The prices are essentially the same as every place else. The service is uneven and the environment is tacky. What makes it so popular? Can it really be the iced tea refills? I'd rank it below Thai Bistro (1), Thai Nakorn (2) and Thai Recipes (3). —GusTavo


2005-10-01 04:12:43   I guess you could consider the food here to be "good" as in it tastes okay. The problem is that it's not really authentic. —ChekOunkomol


2005-10-18 22:51:15   ES, so many people dislike Sophia's and prefer other Thai places? You could have fooled me. How many other Thai places have an hour wait Thursday through Friday for dinner? —JeffSpeckles


2005-10-18 22:52:31   Zachary, there are hotter dishes. T-3 is very spicy, and most dishes can be made "thai hot". —JeffSpeckles


2005-10-19 08:46:56   It may be the most popular, but that doesn't mean that everyone loves it. As a freshmen, it was the only place I had heard of. I honestly think it's just word of mouth that keeps it popular. Once a place is established and people assume thats the way the food should be, they'll often stand by it. But, if you've had Thai food at a variety of other places before ever visiting here, you might not like it. Their iced-tea is flat out horrible (compared to Thai Bistro and Thai 2k) and served from watered down pitchers. The bar, the refills, and the cool environment draws a lot of people, not just the food. —ES


2005-10-21 18:56:35   4 or 5 people? Are you joking? Yes, of course not *everyone* loves it. Make some food that everyone loves and it will be a first in the restaurant industry, I assure you. The fact is that the formula works, and the long wait is a testament to that. I don't know what 'cool environment' you mean, either. Up until a few weeks ago the interior decor looked like it was designed in the 70's. —JeffSpeckles


2005-11-16 16:29:20   My beef was too salty, my iced tea wayyy too sweet. —ReginaSikora


2005-12-16 09:43:55   I'm not into iced tea so I have no comment on that; the food is good for a good price and service is always quick. I like sitting in the smaller room on the mats =D —JoAnnaRich


2005-12-25 18:39:33   What was here before? —SteveDavison


2005-12-29 08:51:03   The food here is pretty decent, but not spectacular. Seating is tight and there is often a wait during mealtimes. The Pad Thai isn't great, but the spinach with peanut sauce is excellent. —AlexPomeranz


2005-12-31 17:41:19   Word to the wise: Padt Thai was invented in NYC by some chinese people, no joke. So it's not real thai food even though pretty much all thai restaurants serve it. No one remembers what was here before because Sophia's is the best restaurant in Davis!!!! Many other restaurants use sticky sweet sauce (Thai recipes and Thai Bistro) and Sophia's thankfully does not. The wait does suck though... —HaleaMeese

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.