Taqueria Guadalajara/2005 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of Taqueria Guadalajara from 2005. For more current reviews, visit the entry.

``I recommend the pastor. It's good in burritos and tacos, or on a tostada. The nachos look apocalyptically good, but I haven't tried those. Their horchata's delicious, though perhaps a shade too cinnamony.`` -ct

``This place has the best burritos in davis (better than Chipotle). Be sure to get a Super Burrito, not a regular Burrito (Super Burritos are way better, even if you don't like sour cream, I reccomend a chicken or steak one). The Pico de Gallo salsa here is the best I've had anywhere. Unfortunately, they don't salt the chips. But, chips and salsa are free. My friends and I have tried almost everything on the menu and I've never heard a complaint.`` -JacobOrenberg

2005-02-13 22:36:25   totally overrated —RishiTrivedi


2005-02-22 11:28:47   I was never terribly impressed with the one by Albertson's, but the one by Nugget is great! The chips are *way* fresher and the food just seems to be prepared with more care. Try the one in El Macero before you write off Guadalajara! —AlphaDog


2005-03-20 22:10:17   carnitas quesodilla is definately worth a try. —AshleyOrsaba


2005-03-20 23:11:27   Guad sells burgers??? —JackHaskel


2005-03-21 09:56:32   Dos is just different. —JimSchwab


2005-04-18 02:37:28   Best burrito in Davis, hands down. —HeatherKlinger


2005-04-18 21:00:08   Taqueria Super Tamale on Lake is better than both. Plus they offer Coronitas buckets for $6. Autentico, bue. —DanielMedinaCleghorn


2005-04-26 02:54:35   Keep the stub if you pay with a credit card. They add about a $1.25 screw you bonus for students. —LoydWilliams


2005-04-26 16:03:44   What do you mean Loyd? They charge $1.25 extra for credit card purchases? Why keep the stub? —JackHaskel


2005-06-17 04:39:23   Best Burritos in Davis Hands Down. I love Mariachi's but sometimes it just doesn't hit the spot. Taqueria Super Tamale is a bit on the expensive side and so incredibly far away from most students. The others (I haven't tried Taqueria Davis) aren't even worth a mention. The breakfast is a great value. Make sure you try the burritos with a more exotic type of meet such as Lengua (tongue), the meat is so tender it just sort of melts. —AlvinTsao


2005-07-07 18:38:06   If you are actually from Davis, you do not call it that repulsive name "the Guad." It is "Taqueria". If you call it "Guad" you will label yourself an outsider. —JacobRoche


2005-07-08 09:41:30   It's pretty weird my friends call it Guadalajara, not sure where they got that name from. —JimSchwab


2005-07-21 20:41:43   GUAD has the best burrito I think I have ever had in my life. I think I have eaten about one hundred of them easily maybe even up in the one-fifty region. Thats a lot of Burrito. If youre a hardcore burrito fan you eat at GUAD not Dos or Chipotle. If anyone even says Chipotle they should be banned from commenting.


2005-08-13 11:19:27   Order your burritos wet. They're much better that way. —AlexPomeranz


2005-08-26 21:56:51   The tacos al pastor are great. —CarlMcCabe


2005-08-27 00:01:51   Heh, I had some executives to a business dinner at this place once. —ScottRitchie


They've charged a few dollars extra to my room mate's credit card and mine. MichaelGiardina


They screwed me out of 3 dollars like this once, so make sure to cross out the blank lines; if they didn't have such damn good burritos, they'd lose my business over this. EricLambden


2005-10-14 13:21:13   There's also a Guadalajara in Woodland (or at least it used to be — at one time it had a sign that said Gualajara, but now it only says Taqueria). It's in the shopping plaza with the Dollar Tree and Kragen auto parts, near the travel agency. The menu is pretty much identical to the Davis Guadalajara's. However, I just stopped in today and that particular location raised their prices to $6.99 for a super burrito, so they're now a lot more expensive. —AlexPomeranz


2005-12-04 03:48:28   coming from santa cruz, I have to say that there really are no good mexican places in Davis. That said, I haven't yet tried Chuys in Winters. The best tacos here I've had are from trucks in Woodland. The Guad, is like totally bad and tasteless. Their salsa is boring and bland. The worst taqueria in santa cruz is like 10 notches above this place. I guess if your used to Chipotle this tastes good. If you are ever in santa cruz check out tacos morenos and that will give you some idea of where the bar is. Speaking of over charged credit cards.....The location on Covel employs people that are just really lame and rude. I guess they are tired of all the drunk students that come in and are confused by their expansive menu, but really this is no excuse. Boycott this place!!! One last thought.....The Guad is a perfect example of quantity over quality.....kind of like how Del taco boasts that the macho combo is over 1 lb. Supersize me anyone??? —DudeNude


2005-12-04 14:21:31   Simply put, a person looking for good Mexican food, will not find it in this place. To be perfectly honest, it doesn't seem like Davis has a large latino population, nor does the school either, so it would make sense that the mexican food sucks. Plus, I agree with DudeNude, this place sucks. I know a place back home where u can get 7 or 8 tacos for 69 cents and the horchata is free. Plus, like DudeNude says u just courteously ask and they will show u the bar and what real tequila looks like. —MikeMele


2005-12-06 01:19:51   Yes! Thank you Mike for I was begining to think I was the only person that had ever had real mexican food in this town. Another thought; When I get pasta, I don't judge the place based on how many noodles they give me, I evaluate the tastiness of the dish based largely upon the sauce. Places like the Guad think that they can stuff you with rice and beans and you will be happy. What about the flavor?? Honestly, rice and beans are cheap.....do you think you are getting a great deal because they overstuff their tasteless burritos with rice and beans??? —DudeNude


2005-12-06 08:03:43   Yes I do actually. I don't go to guad for an exquisite dining experience. I go to get full for cheap. —KenjiYamada


2005-12-06 09:28:53   Yay! More pointless Authenticity discussion. —JackHaskel


2005-12-06 15:28:56   That's the point Kenji. Rice and beans are cheap! you think the Guad is a good deal but it isn't. do the math! —DudeNude


2005-12-07 23:45:57   Tacos Al Pastor y Dorados. There is none higher. The al pastor crispy tacos from Guadalajara are the perfect blend of flavor, spice, and grease. Perfect, just perfect. The base tacos are good. The basic burritos, however, are missing something. They are very "layered" i.e. one bite is rice, one bite is bean, one bite is meat. For Tacos Dorado though, this place is where it's at. —ChrisLambertus


2005-12-08 06:56:59   Chris, I challenge you to a taco crawl....from your review Im guessing the last taco you had was a soft taco at taco bell —DudeNude


2005-12-21 04:41:07   I think this place is OK. But, I have to say, for a Mexican place, they're kind of overpriced. There's a place in Citrus Heights (suburb of Sacramento) called La Fiesta Taqueria (also a chain) that sells pretty close to the equivalent as Guad. The food isn't bad here, though. I don't really consider the employees all that nice, but they're efficient enough. They take your order and you get it pretty quickly. I'll usually eat in here and the experience is decent. I don't really return that often, though, because the experience itself is rather average, and I can eat average at home. —SS


2005-12-21 20:15:22   "THE Guad"? I think not. Its just "Guad". =) —KarlaFung


2005-12-31 17:28:51   The food at the south davis location is definitely not as good as the north davis one. I've gotten stringy, dry meat from the s. davis one and it was disgusting. The north davis one is good but still not as good as taqueria davis (although the location is nicer). The chips from n. davis are greasy and unsalted, the salsa doesn't have much flavor :( —HaleaMeese

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.