Taqueria Guadalajara/2006 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of Taqueria Guadalajara from 2006. For more current reviews, visit the entry.


2006-02-06 11:05:12   I love this place. I have never been charged above the price of my meal, and I have eaten here consistantly for the 6 years I've lived in Davis. Their food is excellent - especially the fish burrito- and they are always friendly and in a hurry to get your food to you. Everything is yummy and reasonably priced. I'd recommed it to anyone. As for authenticity, they are making food from Guadalajara, so "authentic mexican" really depends on the region from which the culture/authenticity is derived. I have heard from reliable sources that the food here is similar to that in Guadalajara. —TiffanySnell


2006-02-06 14:11:49   Generally very good food. I especially love the Al Pastor burrito. If I had the metabolism (and the cash) to do it, I'd eat one of those every other day. The biggest problem I usually have here is finding a place to sit once I get my food. The place is really popular, and really packed. I've only ever been to the north Davis location, so so idea how the other one compares. —EricKlein


2006-02-12 09:58:20   I've gone here several times since this place is highly Wiki-rated. I found my burritos to be smaller than other taquerias, dry-ish, and pretty bland. The fish tacos were likewise small and bland. I don't understand why people rave about this place. YMMV. —SteveDavison


2006-02-14 15:18:40   Good for Davis. Bad for ANYWHERE else. I only eat mexican when I go home. —RyanLeverenz


2006-02-26 23:25:47   Went to the one in north Davis over the weekend, got a super burrito with chicken. Very, very good burrito, but I was disapointed by the 'wet' style- the enchilada sauce was way too tomato-y and not very good tasting (and, being an Oxnard native, I've tasted a lot of authentic tasty enchiladas and enchilada sauces). I also got a bunch of unedible fat-bone pieces. Otherwise, best burrito around, but I know not to try the enchiladas. —ChristyMarsden


2006-03-12 15:53:22   Satisfactory for the most part, but the consistency of the taste has been more variable. Have gone here on and off for the past 6 years. When we get a bad burrito, we stay away for a few months. A place where many students eat, as the food is generally affordable and inexpensive. Tends to be very busy in the evenings with difficulty finding a table; it's usually pretty dirty during that time and loud. Low ceilings give an even more cramped feeling. Haven't gone to South Davis, hopefully it's better. Overall good Mexican burritos. Dos has good "Southwestern" style burritos. Chipotle has the best "new age" burritos, they seem healthier with the McDonald's consistency of taste. —UsetheForce


2006-03-15 21:23:25   The nachos are really good, but everything at Guad is way too damn spicy. For anyone who has a blander palate, going to Guad is like DEATH... make sure you order things without salsa or guacamole if you want to save your tastebuds. Furthermore, the nachos are the only thing I can really stomach from here. Whatever, though, it's close to my apartment and satisfies my food cravings. —MargieHalloran


2006-04-04 10:35:58   I had two of their burritos yesterday. one for Lunch, one for Dinner. I couldn't finish the dinner one because i was still full from the Lunch one. I was just in a burrito mood. Oh i love burritos. and being a fatass. —JulienBiewerElstob


2006-04-10 01:44:19   with taqueria davis a hop, skip, and a jump away, there's really no excuse to be seen at guad...unless you're lost. —IanLumley


2006-07-28 18:09:16   I've never had a problem with the extra "convenience fee" or questionable business practices. —ClaytonRehmus


2006-07-28 18:17:04   when i was gone in the UK for two weeks, all I could think about on the plane ride home was a Spicy Pork Super burrito. It was the first thing i bought when i got back. I didnt even have any American Money on me, i had to use a credit card. good times. —JulienBiewerElstob


"2006-08-03 9:34:00"   This place is so nasty and greasy. I am Mexican-American and I have eaten Mexican food all of my life, and good Mexican food should not have so much lard in it. My mom used to do this, and fortunately, a doctor told her to cut back the lard (or eliminate it) from her food. She did this immediately for health reasons, but the food tastes so much better when it is not so damn greasy. I mean seriously, why is it when people think of good Mexican food, it has to be greasy crap? Some of my family members make the grossest Menudo, which is otherwise an AWESOME dish - but I think they just mess it up. My grandma, on the other hand, also watches the amount of fat/grease she puts in, and it tastes delicious! :) That woman sure knows how to make some good Menudo! —ArielaHaro


2006-08-21 21:20:58   I recently had their breakfast burrito meal. For under 4 bucks I got two small egg and chorizo burritos, rice, beans, and salad. Very tasty. —CameronMenezes


2006-10-20 16:04:08   BUrritos are goood, the fish tacos are extremely overpriced for something that is not even as good as RUBIOS fish tacos at 1/2 the price! —VietnameseStudentAssociation


2006-11-08 21:02:37   i like the chips and salsa bar. ive had better more authentic mexican in LA and the bayarea, but its good mexican for davis. wish their meat had a bit more flavor and their salsa to have more flavor instead of just adding salt or vinegar —AnnThiNguyen


2006-11-10 21:01:04   Since moving up here from San Diego, I've been looking for comparable horchata. Guadalajara's is the best in the Woodland/Davis area. El Mariachi is a distant second. —ErwinSena


2006-11-20 01:28:21   So highly overrated. If they actually had any flavor here, they'd have the right ingredients for a real taqueria —TheStomach


2006-11-20 13:57:31   I've no idea why you'd prefer Guadalajara's "from mix" Horchata to El Mariachi's which is real, in restaurant made, and many many times better. Having grown up around quite a few hispanic people, I've a feeling the San Diego mexican food experience is not as authentic as people claim. —ZacMorris

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.