Taqueria Guadalajara/2007 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are reviews of Taqueria Guadalajara from 2007. For more current reviews, visit the entry.


2007-01-07 12:28:44   this place is good for davis. Their al pastor is the best in Davis, but thats sort of by default. The salsa is ok, but it takes some mixing of spicy with with pico with tapatio to get the right flavor combination. Their meats are better than el mariachi but their salsa is not. This place is the only place in Davis that gives you free all you can eat chips. Hence near the end of a pay cycle this becomes a good place to order a taco and fill up for $1.50. While the best mexican food is Titas on the I5, exit 257, near bakersfield (in buttonwillow), el paisano taco truck is really really good and its just off the 113 in woodland. —MattHh


2007-03-05 01:46:48   Davisites Call it super giant burrito land. What is this "quad" nonsense. These are seperate restaurants. The one in North Davis Albertsons is part of a chain of them that stretches to LA. —StevenDaubert


2007-03-08 18:53:26   Its is not part of a chain, its family owned they have two locations. There are probably a couple thousand places called Taqueria Guadalajara across the country. I think the place is tasty for Davis Mexican food, but have had much better in other cities —JarrettNoble


2007-03-25 13:10:44   Bought the super chicken burrito! Tried this place since its so popular. I have to say its a lot of food but the flavor is not that great. Overall decent place to just fill you up. —BrandonToo


2007-04-01 13:35:33   This place is pretty good, only 1 bad meal after a year of going there all the time (the new cook learned quickly too), and they have NEVER messed my order up... Once in a while they will have your food ready almost instantly, and the wait is not bad even when its really busy. Pretty damn good if you ask me... Most of their food is just "alright" to me, burrittos are pretty good, but their most AWESOME dish is the QUESADILLA SUIZA (and its best with carne asada)!!! PS: The correct terminology is "Guads" (plural) —GarrettGallegos


2007-04-23 17:47:12   My family is vegetarian and we ate here a few times as we saw that they list a "vegetarian" burrito on their menu, we came to find out however that the menu is wrong, and the rice that comes in the"Vegetariano (Vegetarian)" is made with chicken broth, which obviously isn't vegetarian!

We had verified a few times with the cashiers or waiters that we were vegetarian though it was clear that the people who took our orders had no idea if the burrito was actually vegetarian, but would generally say they were. . .it wasn't until one of them actually asked the chef that we found out that they used chicken in making the rice. Our dietary choices are very important to us and we feel that if the menu is going to say "vegetarian" then the product they sell should be as well.

As far as mexican food in Davis goes it's probably the best tasting there is, but we now frequent Dos Coyotes as they are honest about their ingredients and have changed their recipes to be vegetarian friendly.

P.S. Most people I know at the UC called it "Guads"

:-D —Brett


2007-04-30 17:36:33   Our family loves the South Davis Taqueria. Been eating there since they opened. You get a choice of beans with your order, alot of places only have black beans. Never had any trouble with being overcharged either.

Each Mexican restaurant in Davis is unique to themselves and all offer good food, we all just have different tastes. —Tina


2007-05-12 17:15:49   wow. i got the super burrito with steak and refried beans, one of the best burritos i have ever had, and i have had a lot of burritos. best burrito in davis, by far. (ate at North Davis location) —JeffKauf


2007-05-14 20:11:53   I do not recommend this place. I ordered the super giant burrito over the phone so i don't have to wait when I get there. I placed my order, she said it'll be ready in 10 minutes, so I got there in about 13 minutes to give them a little extra time. To my disappointment, she didn't give the order to the kitchen. She just remembered and grabbed the slip next to the register and asked me to verify my order again. Then I had to wait for them to make it, and the cashier forgets to give me my order until I ask her since I didn't get a number for my order. I agree that the burrito is big, but it's nothing special in terms of taste or quality. The service has gotten worse that's for sure! I know they're busy around dinner time, but that's not an excuse to forgot an order entirely then have me wait without even an apology. I won't be eating there again. —mikew


2007-05-18 12:19:38   THEY ACTUALLY HAVE 3 LOCATIONS. There is a Guad in woodland that is owned by the same family. There Super Burritos are a dollar more, but the inside has much of the same decor as the one in North Davis, and the food is great of course —AllanRae


2007-05-24 23:15:31   Dos Coyotes sucks! If you are craving "authentic" mexican food... then this is the place for you. This si as close as it gets to authentic mexican cooking. I could not have survived UCD without this place. I am glad my neighbor in southern cal told me about this place and he was right. —gina


2007-06-22 12:01:51   I don't get it about this place. I must not order the right stuff. Everything I've ever eaten here has been small, cold, slightly unappetizing, not enough cheese, not enough sauce, yukky enchilada sauce. I just don't get it. Love Chuy's and El Mariachi, though. —doggonit


2007-07-19 15:33:26   MORE MEET MORE MEET —dickjones


2007-09-18 10:44:56   Yesterday I went to the North Davis location with my little sister and boyfriend and it was wonderful. We each tried completely different items on the menu and they were all great. If you're super hungry, the wet super burrito will most certainly be more than enough— especially with the free chips and drink refills. +++recomended —jess&will


2007-09-25 18:52:10   It's like eating at home... :) —GregWebb


2007-09-25 19:42:36   I currently rank Guad the #1 for authentic Mexican food in Davis. Liked it better than Taqueria Davis. +Free chips +Free refills +Mexican the way I like it. -Not as many meat choices as Woodland Guad. —atwong


2007-10-08 01:10:33   super giant burrito is good —KaiWan


2007-10-22 11:27:29   Just had a chicken burrito at the south davis location and it was awesome - not sure why someone complained about the grease, because mine was not greasy at all (I should know, I always cook low-fat meals and rarely eat fatty foods). Some of the various salsas were on the spicy side, which was great...definitely seemed spicier than other places I've eaten at, and the chicken was very moist and flavorful. I can't wait to go back...mmmm. —AcMach


2007-11-03 20:32:44   this is a great place, the quesadillas are quite good. —kelvinkay


2007-11-05 08:18:13   The food is tasty and more authentically mexican than Chipotle but they could ease up on the sauce a bit. I'm a fan of the free chips and salsa - sometimes I'll go there just for that. —WillJobe


2007-11-11 00:12:45   The service was super fast. Better prices than Taqueria Davis, but you just can't beat TD service! :) Sorry, I'm a TD girl. —Casey


2007-11-21 17:00:07   I'm proud to say that a few years back, I ate the Super Giant Burrito by myself (with steak). It was delcious! A friend challenged me and I got my pic up on their wall (I was the first female up there). The people working at the time were pretty amazed since this little girl somehow managed to devour this humongous burrito. —CurlyGirl26


2007-11-28 14:11:17   I've been to the North Davis one about 10 times, but I don't think the food is to rave over. I've sampled a variety of the burrito menu as well as some other stuff and it just seemed average to me. Every time I've ordered a super burrito the amount of guacamole and cream I got in it didn't justify the extra cost. Its an alright place for some food with friends but if I'm trying to impress someone I'd probably go elsewhere. Quality can sometimes be inconsistent, but then again this is just my experience. Two out of the last five burritos I've ordered were either cold or had the wrong type of meat. The best burritos I've ever had were at El Tepeyac in East La. —DavidHolcomb


2007-12-03 13:49:01   I agree with the last comment about the burritos being cold. The last few times we have been there we have always had to put the burritio in the microwave after we picked it up. Its not that they were waiting for us to come pick up the food either, they were given to us that way... —MyaBrn

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.