Thai Bistro/2004 and 2005 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are comments for Thai Bistro left in 2004 and 2005. You can find more recent reviews on the entry.

I have fairly simple tastes when it comes to Thai food, and in my opinion, Thai Bistro serves the best pad thai in town. - MikeIvanov


PSHHHHHH. PSHHHH. No. Nuh-uh. 2k Thai towers...TOWERS...over Thai Bistro. - MikeKayton


Best Thai in Davis. Better food than over-priced Sophias for sure. Thai tea is soooo good. - AshleyOrsaba


2004-12-14 11:18:45   But. . . I want the French place back!!!! wah!! - ChrisTakemura


2004-12-14 23:20:26   In my opinion this place and 2k Thai are about neck to neck for best Thai in town.. lately I've preferred Thai Bistro - By contrast in my humble opinion as a self-declared connossier of Thai food, Sophia's is so terrible I am actually offended when people say good things about it. - KrisFricke


2004-12-16 18:33:34   My experience is that there are two kind of Thai restaurants in the States, those that use sugar and those that don't. Although I really liked the soup at Thai Bistro, I found the main dishes I tried too sweet. I think they are in the sugared-dish camp. - TomHinds


2005-01-20 21:58:44   This place used to be the French bistro for a loong time. —RohiniJasavala


2005-01-23 00:42:39   Anyone who's lived in Davis knows this is the former site of the late, great Crepe Bistro. I have many fond memories of fondue and crepes. :( The Crepe Bistro succumbed in part due to the fire that temporarily closed down several stores in this block. —CentralDavisite


2005-02-11 13:58:18   This is my favorite restaurant in Davis. I haven't had a bad dish yet and combined with service and atmosphere the price is unbeatable. —JillWeinstein


2005-03-01 01:09:33   I love Thai Food. But I think that 2k is the most authentic Thai food in Davis. The food at 2K Thai Food is really good, so if you really know how to eat Thai Food you gonna go to 2k Thai Food. —JohnGunner


2005-03-18 15:51:00   I've been here and didn't care enough for the food to go back... —ToHarris


2005-03-18 19:07:34   The Thai cups I had here were delicious. —AndreyGoder


2005-03-24 22:41:52   I've had better pad thai. —PatrickSing


2005-06-06 21:53:58   The Pad J and Pad Thai are both excellent. My coworkers and I can't get enough of those after-meal peppermint patties. —BrandonKeene


2005-06-07 21:32:31   This place is awesome. You can get a great and filling lunch including a salad for around 7 bucks. Their Kao Param Gai which is peanut chicken is incredible. I have eaten here about 20 times since it opened not so long ago. This place is definitely a place to try if you haven't yet. —AllanRae


2005-06-08 18:49:53   Tried this restaurant out recently, the food is pretty good and the price is not too bad, either. But ArielaHaro says that my homemade pad-thai is way better. So if you want decent Thai food you should either eat here or make friends with me. —KarlMogel


2005-06-22 15:49:11   Prefer Sophias over this. The food was OK, but did anyone else have a problem keeping it in the serving dish? And I hated the service, which in turn made me hate the atmosphere. Sorry to be a downer on what seems to be a good review. The food wasn't bad, but it isn't bad at Sophias either. —SS


2005-07-06 07:48:14   Good food, but in the winter, when the patio area is not in use, it can be very crowded inside this place. —SiennaGrass


2005-07-21 15:59:49   I agree that their thai iced tea is one of the best in town. Also, when you get curry for take out, the portions aren't too small and can last an extra meal. You do have to order extra rice though (or make it at home like we do). However, I strongly caution people against order their hottest curry (they use a 1-4 scale). The curry was so hot, we couldn't eat half of it. Try 2 or 3 to be safe. —JenniferEllis


2005-08-10 18:50:52   One of my absolute *worst* dining experiences in Davis, ever. So crowded we sat outside and were ignored, the waiter was horrible, and the food wasn't good enough to make up for the poor service. We also had a sprinkler attack us while we ate. I'm not going back. —MelissaPytlak


2005-08-10 23:01:59   I don't know when the above reviewer ate there, perhaps right before me. My experience was totally opposite. Our waiter was exceptionally helpful (perhaps he was ignoring the outside customers)? The food was excellent, though a bit meat-heavy for my tastes. The Thai iced tea was delicious, albiet very sweet. Prices $7-$14 range. I'd recommend them. —SteveDavison


2005-10-15 20:03:24   Just got back from eating dinner here for the first time. The restaurant is kind of loud, but the service was good. We tried the mango chicken and the lemon grass chicken. The mango chicken actually had an entire mango's worth of mango in it, and was quite tasty. The lemon grass chicken was spiced excellently and was super-flavorful, even though it tasted nothing like lemon grass. Our total dinner bill came out close to $25 after tax/tip for only two dishes, no drinks, no appetizers. I'd definitely go back when I'm feeling rich. —AlexPomeranz


2005-10-17 12:52:57   Best of the Thai iced tea, hands down. —ES


2005-10-18 17:55:15   They run coupons in the Aggie all the time, at least once a month. They ran two just recently! Friday the 14th, and Monday the 17th. Just scan the Aggie and you can get an amazing meal for a great price! Freed us from our inhibitions and we tried their Salmon special the other night; my girlfriend and I both loved it. With the coupon it cost only $21, including the tip, for the salmon special, fried rice, and two iced teas (the best in town yet again). Most their normal dishes are less then $10, what did you order Alex? —ES

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.