Thai Bistro/2007 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are comments for Thai Bistro left in 2007. You can find more recent reviews on the entry.


2007-02-09 13:05:20   Excellent food and excellent service. This is the place I bring my out-of-town visitors to, though Sophia's may win out in general ambience. —LynnetteWharton


2007-02-11 16:20:12   this place is better than 2k, it has better service, and the food are served in large proportions. i ordered the roast duck at 2k and it was soooooooo damn tiny, compared to thai bistro. —AnnaPhan


2007-02-14 14:57:08   I think 2k, Nakorn and this place are all pretty much the same (recipies is slightly better). The Pad Kee Mao is quite good, but the other food ive tried was not so great. Over all this is a decent thai place. —MattHh


2007-02-15 13:56:21   If you love curry, try the Green Curry with Chicken & Prawns - it's a lunch special - absolutely fantastic... —DiannaFrancis


2007-02-22 12:25:06   Better than Thai 2k in terms of food and service, but falls short to Sophia's in overall experience. They do have very interesting entree options and more exotic variety than the other Thai options in town. I especially enjoy their Mango entrees. —BriannaBetancourt


2007-03-02 12:56:00   I really enjoy the meals at Thai Bistro (more than any other Thai resatuarant here in Davis) and the service is pretty good. My favorite is Pad J, eggplant sauteed... : P yum —DonnaChen


2007-03-17 14:21:51   The last time I went here, the taller waiter was extremely rude and had a pissy attitude the whole time. My brother accidently spilled his water and the waiter sighed heavily with extreme annoyance and disdain as he pushed a dirty mop between my toes. Yuck. Besides the attitude problem, this place has a good lemon grass/coconut milk soup. —CandiceWang


2007-03-22 11:39:31   best coconut milk soup in davis. interesting dishes but not a huge range of veggie options. what they do have rocks. service is pretty poor and as for atmosphere... let's just say sitting inside does not have nearly the same ambience as i'd imagine you're all getting sitting outside. :) —AnsateJones


2007-05-23 11:40:51   i was pretty disappointed after coming here a couple weeks ago. after waiting roughly 30 minutes for my lamb kebab, the server informed me that they accidentally made chicken instead, so, not wanting to wait an additional 45 minutes, I took the chicken. That was ok, but then my friend found a long black hair in her pad thai. even after we informed the waiter, we barely got an apology and no amends were made to compensate for it. the food was tasty, but we probably won't return. —JoyChu


2007-07-16 12:21:28   We had the fresh fried tofu and the panak pan (?), which is veggies topped with peanut sauce. Incredibly delicious, but not spicy enough. Large portions, took some home. They brought us rice, even though we didn't ask for it, and then charged us. So if you do NOT want rice, tell your waiter. Very nice atmosphere, etc. A little too expensive for a regular meal, but fershur nice if you are on a date or something special. —JillBenciWoodward


2007-07-31 02:21:28   Two friends and I ate here a few hours ago. The food tasted bland, as the curry sauce on two of the dishes were watered down. The thai salad was bland. Service was really slow, and we got our meals roughly 9 minutes apart. Either they screwed up horribly today, or they suck. Either way, we're not going back here again. —JohnWong


2007-07-31 12:08:39   good service. went in right when closed —KaiWan


2007-08-21 10:04:10   It took me a while to come around to this place. I used to work in this building when it was a crepe shop and I kinda felt like they stole "Pierre" (the little wooden waiter who stands outside by the patio). Pierre has been inherited from the old restaurant and he was MY friend! Anyway, I went there this weekend with my father and had some very good lamb kabobs. They were succulent and tender, not dry. My only qualm was that they were so tasty, I was left wanting more, even though I was full. The peanut sauce was standard fare, nothing spectacular, but not gross at all. The mint variety was better. My dad had some chicken that was a little dry for my tastes but I'm sure would satisfy white meat lovers. Service was friendly and helpful, despite the heavy accent. My iced coffee was also standard, but I love Thai iced coffee so I'll give it an air guitar solo. Total bill was around 30. A nice place to take someone for a sit down meal. I'll probably go back. —jefftolentino


2007-08-26 15:35:54   I could go on and on about this place, and I will. I've been frequenting this place for three years. The owners always fawn over our daughter and take her into the kitchen to visit the cooks. The food is outstanding, I have NEVER had a bad meal there, ever, and we go often. The place is so clean, it smells so good and the artwork is lovely. We've never had to wait for a table, our food comes out lightening fast and super fresh. If I had to choose one resteraunt in Davis to eat at for the rest of my life, it would be Thai Bistro. I LOVE YOU GUYS!!!! —ElisaWeller


2007-08-26 20:05:40   Being a Thai person, you're either going to get authentic or American versions of Thai food. Sophia's Kitchen is a perfect example of Americanized Thai food. This place is probably the closest thing to "real" Thai food you can get in Davis. For all the people who come here and get horrible service, it happens, trust me, I've WORKED at Thai restaurants. Think about it: These cooks don't ever get a break, they work from when the restaurant opens to when it closes, how would you feel during lunch rush or dinner rush... Being a waitress, I pretty much feel like shiet during the lunch rush. Think about being a cook and being in front of a GAS stove, yes, they use GAS stoves... and cooking dishes from opening to closing time and not to mention standing the whole entire time. And the hair comment, stuff like that happens... just because it happened once, doesn't mean it'll happen again. This restaurant beats all the Thai resturants in Davis to a Thai person because most Thai restaurants serve all the common and popular dishes that American people eat. Rarely does a Thai resturant serve dishes that aren't with Americanized taste or dishes that American people won't eat. —Apartmenthunter


2007-08-26 20:10:35   and not having Thai curry, that comment is ridiculous because I know full well that they have it because I saw it on the menu. I think they put the Thai name for it. Just ask the waiter next time. —Apartmenthunter


2007-10-12 23:13:45   Probably the worst Panang Curry I have ever had!! The beef felt absolutely disgusting in my mouth, I thought it might be bad. Not spicy at all, very bland. How can Panang Curry be bland? I guess in Davis it can. The rice was ok, not the best, just barely ok. Might come back and try something else. —ingrid


2007-11-15 11:17:27   We went here last night and it was fantastic. The food took no time at all to be prepared, the employees were friendly, and the space was clean and comfortable. My boyfriend ordered the Karee Gai and I couldn't keep my hands off of it! It was so good that the rest of the evening was spent praising what a good meal we had. We loved the water infused with fruits and citrus and that when you order tea they put many tea bags into the pot so it gets nice and strong. —jess&will


2007-11-15 23:01:46   food was alright, kind of bland compare to home cook authentic thai food. i thought it was funny how the waiter took back the mint that came with my bill. I didn't have a chance to take the mint b/c I was putting away my credit card and receipt, and the waiter was standing right there, kind of impatient, and he just took my mint with the receipt! he could've at least ask me first if i wanted it. i wonder if he reused it and gave it to s/o else? I'm just bitter b/c i wanted that mint —kikao


2007-11-16 13:04:09   The night I ate here 3 dead flies fell into my food, all at different times throughout my meal. how is this possible? I was pretty grossed out. I don't think I will go back. —GregMediati


2007-12-02 19:48:56   Today I dined this place with my boyfriend, we order stuffed chicken wings, Pad-J, and Pang Nuer, and Thai iced tea. The food quality is average, not as good as I expected to be (from the ratings here). I prefer Thai Nakorn over this place although Thai Bistro has better service. —ayusdream

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.