Thai Bistro/2008 Reviews

InfoInfo
Search:    

These are comments for Thai Bistro left in 2008. You can find more recent reviews on the entry.


2008-02-03 19:02:28   Hands down best Thai food in Davis. Thai Bistro is my favorite place to eat out. I'm Really shocked at the few bad reviews. I guess you can't please everyone... —harue


2008-02-09 18:13:54   Mediocre food and awful service. —StellaChiara


2008-02-12 18:15:26   One of the best. Very good food, very good service. Very nice to sit outside. —PatesBaroni


2008-02-12 20:08:37   I like it because it's more authentic than the others. I don't need the gimmicky decor, hot looking waiter/waitress or the americanized dishes. I just want good food dammit. —atwong


2008-02-25 18:28:22   They no longer serve spinach! That means no Pra Ram Pak - my favorite spinach with peanut sauce! They keep saying it's because of the E. Coli scare a year ago, but I can get spinach at the super market...anyway, still one of the best Thai places around, just know the dishes aren't exactly what the menu says they are all the time. —smmc


2008-03-06 17:02:17   I'm going to get straight to the point. My boyfriend and I went there and ordered 3 dishes... 1) pad thai, noodles came out soggy 2) a red curry dish which was bland. 3) and a appetizer of chicken with a plastic wrap that was scrunched up into a ball underneath our chicken. We told the waiter and he quickly apologized and replaced our chicken. The customer service was good, I know since I've been there a couple of times. But I was never impressed by the food either. Regardless, judging from the flies that are always there, the place can't be sanitary. I'm never going back there again. —SmartenU


2008-03-19 11:57:09   I don't know what the average person thinks Thai food tastes like in Davis, but to an actual Thai person, the Thai food anywhere in Davis if not ordered in Thai tastes really bastardized. It would taste like how any American would make the dish. This is because they are trying to appeal to the Davis population which is primarily White. If you head over to major cities like San Francisco and Los Angeles, that's AUTHENTIC Thai food. It would taste different.

Those of you saying the food is bland, take that into consideration. Its bland because the average population here likes it that way. They've been in business for a while so one would think they know what they are doing.

You can't really get food made the authentic Thai way unless: 1)You're at a Thai person's house 2)If you're Thai, make it yourself 3)Go with a Thai person that speaks Thai FLUENTLY(That's the KEY word because speaking it isn't enough) and tells them to make it as if they were at home because they're homesick.

If you like the way they make food, guess what the average Thai restaurant in this area makes food the same way. It always cracks me up when people say it tastes worse than another place in Davis because to a Thai person, it tastes the SAME. LOL unless you ask them to make it "Thai" then it tastes different because they're not following a bastardize recipe anymore, they make it taste as if they're cooking for their own child. The only difference between Thai restaurants here seems to be what they offer as their specials and what's on the menu. Then again, certain things are ALWAYS going to be on the menu, like PAD THAI and CURRY and ICE TEA because its what Thai food is known for. I've never had a problem with requesting certain things if its not on the menu. Then again I order it in Thai >.<. —Wamisu


2008-04-13 21:06:11   I have eaten here over five times and the food I get is always pretty good, despite the recent *dramatic* price increases on the menu. True its nothing like what my San Francisco tastebuds are used to, but in Davis extreme compromise is necessary. The service is usually fast, sometimes too fast because they often try to get you in and out of there as quickly as humanly possible (take your order within 60 seconds of you sitting down; clear your plate and water glass as soon as you take your last bite) —SRB


2008-06-02 08:10:02   my least favorite Thai in town. The atmosphere and service are both good (although I preferred the crepe place in this location). The crab cakes are horrible: poor quality pork sausage ruins the crab, even if it was fresh crab (which it wasn't) Pad Thai was soggy and boring, The stuffed chicken wings are just not good: egg roll stuffing in chicken skin and then deep fried just don't quite work, no matter how good it sounds. I do not know what you have to do to Tofu to get it to be sour, but they did it. Sophies, Thai Nakorn and Thai 2K are all great Thai food. There is no good reason to go to Thai Bistro, it is just as expensive as Sophies and in the same league. —ACA


2008-07-09 10:26:39   No MSG and still taste great! —VisitorFromSac


2008-10-15 14:02:50   I happen to think Thai Bistro is awesome! Lots of food for you money if you get a lunch dish, and it's conveniently located near my work. —MasonMurray


2008-11-24 22:35:22   they're definitely friendly. the praram was pretty good but i've never had a bad praram, and will be coming back to try other things. the black rice pudding was disappointing though...i'm used to an purely black rice and coconut milk sweet dark decadent yumfest, not a bottom of the rice pan brick with a few black rice grains tossed in and a weak coconut sauce on top. —MiranPark

This is a Wiki Spot wiki. Wiki Spot is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that helps communities collaborate via wikis.