These are reviews of Chuy's Taqueria from 2007. For more current reviews, visit the entry.

2007-03-07 21:49:06   actually there is no question that El Paisano Taco Truck in Woodland has the best adobada tacos i have had in northern california (including the bay area). As for in Davis this places adobada is significantly better than el mariachi, about the same as taquerria davis, and a little worse than guadaljaras. But the best part about this place is that it has the best Lengua i have found around Davis, even better than the places in woodland. Fish taco is good for davis, but certainly over rated. —MattHh

2007-04-05 22:30:46   Winters or Davis location: either way a whole lotta yum. —StacieTownsend

2007-04-21 08:16:25   Good food. I was pleased. I haven't tried their burritos, but their tortas are the best in Davis. A little messy since a lot stuff falls out if your not careful, but it tastes wonderful. They also have lengua, which is cattle tongue. It's really soft and they make it well. I don't know of any other Mexican place in Davis that serves it. —CarlosOverstreet

2007-06-16 11:20:21   Best Burrito place in Davis, hands-down. —CaseyBarc

2007-07-17 15:57:51   Does anyone know if the food is vegetarian friendly or do they lard it up? —ScottWeintraub

2007-07-27 17:52:05   I wonder if they changed their hours for the summer like many other Davis locations. I wouldn't be that surprised if they did. —JonathanMartinez

2007-10-01 11:46:54   After just having sampled a chicken super burrito, I have to say that it was mediocre at best. It was overloaded with beans, yet rice and cheese poor, and had no bite. The sour cream was partitioned off, and made for a disgusting puss-like explosion once I found it. Taqueria Davis outclasses them by far in the burrito department. —KyleDoherty

2007-10-01 23:00:39   In all honesty, I've never actually been very fond of their burritos. Their tacos are fantastic, and a lot of other dishes there are extremely good, but I leave the burrito preparation to other places. —EricKlein

2007-10-08 08:50:38   Their cheese enchiladas and tostadas seem to be okay, but my dad complained that the beef in his tacos was bland and greasy. He couldn't even finish it. My mom said it was good, but I'm not sure if she was just saying that to make me feel better about picking the restaurant. —CalamityJanie

2007-10-26 17:26:57   I've never been either disappointed or impressed with their food. It's good, but not amazing. What WAS bad, however, was the time we sat down and ordered our food, and then were kept waiting for at least 45 minutes for it to come - And it wasn't even busy (two other tables had people, one group got their food shortly after we arrived). Then, when the food did arrive, it was cold. Apparently it had been sitting somewhere. :( But that's the only time they've been unsatisfactory. Like many (most?) Mexican places, they sell the glass-bottle Cokes with Mexican labels, which taste better than plastic-bottle English label Coke! —gurglemeow

2007-10-26 22:32:26   While their other offerings are okay, the seafood dishes are where Chuy's excels. The fish tacos are downright divine, as is the tostada de ceviche. The spicy seafood stew - Caldo de Mariscos- has lots of shrimp, fish and squid which and is an amazing value at $9.75 (I get at least 3 meals out of it), it's perfect on a cold rainy day. —MarieBoisvert

2007-10-26 22:40:47   It surprises me how few people know of Chuy's. It's out of the way, I know, but their food (esp. the avocado & lime garnished fish tacos) generally trumps that of other Mexican restaurants in Davis. Service is friendly, slow at times, though I've found this is usually remedied by choosing to pay up front instead of being seated initially. Over the years, I've found that I default to Chuy's not only for Mexican food, but when eating out in general— that must count for something. —BrianLum

"2007-11-27 20:25:35"   I have lived in Davis for the past six and a half years and I finally tried Chuy's a few weeks ago. I am sad I waited so long to try this place because I love their chicken burritos! I am addicted to Chuy's now and crave it all the time! You have to try this place! —JessicaAnnWilliams