These are archived reviews of Raja Indian Cuisine from 2008. For more recent comments, please visit the entry.

2008-01-07 03:53:22   The owner is so very friendly & welcoming. Sadly, the food is just so blah. I think the price is now up to $7.99, but unlike Kathmandu, which is $8.99, Raja's buffet does not include appetizers. (Samosas are available for an extra charge, but they aren't worth it). Kathmandu has more flavor & way more options. As mentioned above, Raja's does however, offer vegan bread which is delicious. —AprilAries

  • Are you sure the bread is vegan? Almost all naan is made with yogurt. Maybe it isn't naan. —ScottWeintraub
  • We were assured by the owner that the bread was vegan, but I'm not sure if it is naan. AprilAries

2008-01-26 16:02:35   Good food, good service, the owner is (sometimes too) friendly to his regulars. I agree that the lunch buffet is definitely worth it. Does anyone know if there's a pattern to the main lunch buffet entree during the week? —cdmarqua

2008-02-24 21:01:40   I tried this restaurant only once, despite a love of Indian food. The service was slow, and the food was not particularly good. The mango lassi that I had was definitely not among the better lassis that I've had in my life (it was rather watery.) I also had the buffet, which was not terribly good either. While I might consider going here again, I really was not very impressed. —IDoNotExist

2008-03-06 01:29:09   As a few people have already pointed out, the owner DOES NOT accept coupons from daviscouponsonline, even though the dates ARE valid through 2009. As AnnaF said, we too were told the coupon was old/expired. When we showed him the date, he argued he had not approved the coupons to be offered. *Just checked Raja's website, and their website advertises, bring in a coupon to save money off the buffet. —AprilAries (As of 5/27/08 it appears Raja's has been removed from the Daviscoupons website.) AprilAries :Currently Raja's has no website. Most probably the one you saw was put up by the former owners. —Bergamini

I suppose it is possible, but it seems strange to me that the ownership changed in 2005 & the website was still up in 2008. It's even weirder that daviscouponsonline continued to post coupons in 2008 dated as valid until 2009. Thanks for the info though. AprilAries

2008-03-23 15:39:14   A very below average buffet. Food is bland and often dry. Selection is mediocre. Good only if you want to gorge and don't want to veer far off campus. —tombrokaw

2008-03-25 14:34:53   I've tried the lunch buffet and the dinner menu, and had a great experience both times.

For those who say the buffet food is bland and/or dry, I suggest maybe taking advantage of some of the chutneys, raita, etc. available on the side. I can't say I've had a bland experience, and the food (even at the buffet) is worth savoring.

The dinner specials are huge, big enough for two or for another meal of leftovers. I had a vegetable biryani, which included lots of veggies and cashews. Very satisfying, and I couldn't finish more than a third of it.

And they mix a great masala chai. Beautiful.

Anyway, I like it, and it's different from Kathmandu. Nice to have in town. —eyecantremember

2008-04-05 10:45:30   I really enjoy Raja's. I've only tried the lunch buffet, but I catch a meal there about once a week. I'm not sure how some of these reviews can call the food bad... In my experience it ranges from pretty good to incredibly good, and I've never had a bad or 'bland' dish. Once one of the buffet items was a little too salty once. That's it. I recommend heading over right when the buffet opens at about 11:30. The food will be piping hot and as fresh as it gets. Oh, and the manager is a really good guy. He'll give a free chai once in a while to his regulars. And I got free, fresh-from-the-oven garlic naan when I brought my family, and on my birthday. —AaronD

2008-04-08 20:22:21   Raja's is my favorite restaurant in Davis and several of my friends with whom I eat there regularly feel the same. The food is great and the portions are sizable for the cost. They've got the best saag dishes I've ever had. It's also certainly he warmest and friendliest sevice in town, or in most towns for that matter. —MichaelSteinman

2008-04-09 11:12:12   Mike and I come here at least a few times a month, one of my fav restaurants, the owner is the best —BrianAng

2008-04-10 16:30:01   It's pretty good stuff. —AlexanderHo

2008-04-24 20:27:10   I had their vegetable kabob for dinner and it was very good. The owner, a friendly old Indian man, gave me a free appetizer to snack on while I waited for my meal. The wait took around 20-25 minutes (not a place to eat if you are in a hurry) but the outside balcony provided a lovely view and the weather was very cooperating. The vegetable kabob meal consisted of a garlic naan, herbed rice, and a one foot skewer with potatoes, onions, cauliflowers, and carrots. The food was worth the wait and I took the herbed rice home for lunch tomorrow (but if you can eat a whole chiptole burrito, then you would have no problem finishing the entire meal). The total cost came out to $12, which is pretty expensive for students. Note: this review is for the dinner menu, not the lunch buffet. —justinhu

2008-04-26 13:39:16   I have eaten here a couple of times now, and each time I have been impressed by the food. The owner is a really nice guy—very accomodating, and even throws in a free appetizer... It's also really nice to sit outside on the deck on a warm evening... —adiabatic

2008-05-01 11:46:51   I LOVE this place, I go here all the time and it's great, and they're always so nice to me...I wish the buffet was still 5.99 tho :P —Kry

2008-05-28 20:32:18   I don't go there often, but it's always a treat when I do. The owner is about the friendliest I can ever recall in any restaurant — like being served by your favorite uncle. I'm not an Indian food expert, but everything I order is delicious and memorable. I've only been there for dinner, not the lunch buffet, however. —RussellSnyder

2008-06-06 00:55:51   In my opinion, food is great and the service is awesome. I usually eat here once or twice a month since I am racked up with classes. The old-man is really really friendly. He gave me free mango lassi & coffee occasionally when I'm there. —xcutioners

2008-06-25 19:29:39   Tried the Chicken Saag and Vindaloo. They were both very tasty and at least on par with Kathmandu Kitchen. I think the prices are maybe a buck or two cheaper. The main difference was the old guy in the turban (the owner I assume) who was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I'll definitely go back and try the buffet. —BlairGoss

2008-07-31 18:17:11   I was incredibly disappointed the last time I had lunch here. Compared to Kathmandu, it was awful. Compared to how it was in 2004/2005, it was atrocious. —PhilosopherDave

2008-10-11 19:04:56   Had a great meal last night. Try a bottle of the J.Lohr Riesling with your dinner for a real treat. —JimStewart

2008-10-24 20:45:07   The owner is a real nice guy; very approachable. He has regularly come out with complimentary pakora or chai when my wife and I visit. Those who had bad experiences with expired or unauthorized coupons were probably offered complimentary things as well, I would guess. Anyway, the guy certainly does not put profit before service and kindness. Between the quality of the food and hospitality, it's one of my favorite places in Davis. The vegetarian special is excellent, and enough for two with leftovers. —Bergamini

2008-10-31 13:00:41   I am very fond of, and regularly go to Raja's. The owner is a superb guy who is honest and provides great service (even during the lunch buffet). After he took over a year or two ago, the quality of food and service shot up quite a bit. Taranbir (the owner) buys nearly all his ingredients locally at the farmer's market. Because of this the selection of food for the lunch buffet is fairly limited (12-16 dishes, about), but they're all extremely delicious. Raja's is one of those special small-scale, hole in the wall places that offers superb food and service. It is definitely not one of those huge assembly-line places that pumps out massive quantities of sub-par food, though. If you are used to eating fast-food style Indian food, this place might not be for you. However, if you like the lunch buffet, be sure to come back for the dinners. The buffet is good, but the dinners are out of this world. Be sure to try the mango yogurt-smoothie concoction. —aammdd

2008-11-03 19:55:49   I love this place! They have amazing food, and the best service ever, fresh naan right to your table! I go here on a weekly basis and always leave happy and full! —Selby

2008-11-04 12:55:38   Super Fantastic!! I love going to this place for lunch buffet (haven't tried it for dinner). The owner is GREAT! He is always very nice & brings over fresh chicken & nan to your table even though its a buffet. There is indoor or outdoor seating. All you can eat for less than 8 bucks! And its good food! Makes my day. —LauraBruno

2008-11-05 19:06:06   I went to Raja's for lunch today. Very good food. I mentioned to Taranbir that I have an alergy to milk, and he had the cooks make me one of the dishes without the yoghurt that it normally includes. Great food, friendly service. - Aaron. —NeedlesFamily

2008-11-06 11:52:11   The food is good, the owner is very friendly. I visit this place quite often and I totally recommend it. They close at 9pm, so get there before 8:15pm if you are planning to go for the dinner buffet. —Praveen

2008-11-09 01:26:12   This place is great. I don't think I've ever ordered anything other than the chicken makhanwala or the chicken korma, but it's always delicious and my friends have all enjoyed their dishes. A chicken curry dinner dish with rice and naan is just under $12, and unless you are starving or otherwise unable to restrain yourself you will probably have leftovers. The owners are consistently very warm, hospitable, and accommodating. I was there for dinner earlier this evening with a group of people. The owner threw in a couple of free appetizers and had no problem splitting the check seven ways for us (when we all discovered no one had cash, only debit cards), which was pretty awesome. —WhitneySharp

2008-11-10 17:58:11   Great food for a price that anyone can afford!! The fresh naan and tandoori chicken is something to look forward to~! —ecj

2008-11-10 23:53:22   The owner is quite possibly the nicest man in existence. I go to Raja's just to be around him. He is extremely accomodating, constantly asks how he can help you and is genuinely concerned with your eating experience. Raja's food may be limited in variety, but it isn't bad. I like going there for lunch because it is so close to campus (and the owner is such an awesome guy). I can EASILY fill myself up with delicious Raja's food, and often dine in their outdoor eating area with friends during spring and fall quarter. Aree Rating: 8.5/10. —ArianeMetz

2008-11-13 22:11:33   Not only is the food divine, the service is amazing! Everyone there is so friendly and it makes lunch time such a treat. My roommates and I go to the lunch buffet every chance we get! We haven’t gone for dinner, but it must be great since the lunch is phenomenal. This is my favorite restaurant in Davis. —JennyDickinson

2008-11-17 21:40:04   This is the best indian food in Davis!!! mostly because of the owners. The owner is so sweet and always gives me chai tea while I wait for my food...the Benghan Bharta is delicious. I definitely recommend it! —MollyM

2008-11-18 19:20:30   The food here is always incredible. I've never had the buffet, but I've been here many times for dinner and have never been less than completely satisfied. It's a tad expensive, but the owner is always extremely attentive and they have so many vegetarian options. I vote yes on Raja's! —*Co0lToWn*

2008-11-21 14:03:37   Great food, good service. If you like indian food you have to go and try the food —manu

2008-11-22 00:33:54   This is my new favorite restaurant in Davis! The lunch buffet is fast and the food is really good. And the service is really warm and friendly. —Ursina

2008-11-22 14:02:11   I go to this place all the time. The buffet is a great deal and the location can't be beat. Best part about the place is the atmosphere and service. The owner is always there and is really friendly and helpful. I recond this place to all my friends and is one of my favorite places to get a filling lunch of the cheap side. —bukj303

2008-11-23 12:09:21   I have been coming here for a good 2 years and I have always loved their food. If you eat your share the price isnt that bad, and the types of food they have does change daily, and everytime people show up at the store hes more than happy to fix up a fresh batch of nann. Even more than the food, is its owner who every time I have come to the establishment have always been the kindest most caring personI have ever met. I have tried the other place and the food is alright, but their service was horrible, and for me I think I'll stick to Raja's. —Perot

2008-12-01 02:13:30   Taranbir, the owner, is the nicest person I've ever met. You forget that you are in a restaurant — I felt like an invited guest at his house! The food was delicious. New lunch favorite, hands down. —MichellePalmer

2008-12-04 08:56:57   I had never had Indian food before and LOVED it! It was spicy and delicious. The owners were so nice and service was great. —Stacey