These are reviews of Taste of Thai from before they opened. For more current reviews, visit the entry.

2010-02-24 22:11:45   Great... just what G Street needs, another Thai restaurant. What will this be, the 4th Thai place on the street? And replacing Noodle Express (best Chinese in Davis) for this? Ridiculous. —JeremyDutch

2010-02-25 03:28:10   Another Thai restaurant to steal customers from all the other Thai restaurants. I still love my Thai Bistro and my Thai Dynamite. Those are my ultimate favorite Thai places in Davis. —ThUn

2010-02-27 14:14:07   I will try the pad thai, and report back

sophias and thai dynamite so far best intown —StevenDaubert

2010-02-27 17:38:28   You can never have enough thai restuarants. ;-) I'm curious though. Are the existing restaurants usually full? If not, is there a large enough market to support another? —IDoNotExist

  • Sophia's Thai Kitchen has always been crowded whenever I went but I have not tried other places. If every place is like Sophia's, then definitely.—hankim

2010-03-02 20:55:01   I personally am sick of seeing Thai, Thai, Sushi, Sushi everywhere you turn. Why can't Davis have one decent Steakhouse for once? I mean, when you get excited about something like "Tacos and Beer" just because it isn't more Asian food in a two block area, isn't that a problem?Another thing to be mentioned... these people aren't exactly impressing me at this point anyway already being in the bullseye of the Davis Code authority for unauthorized modifications without paying for permits. What a way to begin a new establishment —WesOne

  • It's because Davis is full of yuppies, hipsters, and health-trend followers who tend to think Asian food is much healthier, more cultured, and just plain better than a nice fatty piece of steak. I would like to try Buckhorn Steak and Roadhouse but I cannot bring myself to spend thirty bucks on a single meal. —hankim
    • Then how do you explain the success of Burgers and Brew? I think a steak house would do well here, as long as it were priced so that students could afford it, while still appealing to families, faculty, etc. (Hint: don't make the music too loud). —CovertProfessor
      • Affordable prices, open late on weekends, familiarity of the type of food served, and beer in a college town. I don't think a steakhouse would fail here, I just gave my reasoning why Davis has so many Asian places even though only twenty percent or so of the population is Asian. —hankim

2010-03-02 21:06:24   What is your evidence about the modifications?

  • The city of of Davis posted a stop work order on the building earlier in February. The only modifications allowed were exterior (the only ones which they purchased permits for) all interior remodelling is still on hiatus pending payment for permits and fines for unauthorized work already done. Inquiries can be made with the city of Davis. —WesOne
    • You can get steak at Pluto's, and at Buckhorn when they are at the farmers market. An actual steakhouse might be nice, but would the Davis market support it? Those strike me as catering to a much older crowd than the majority of the Davis population. —IDoNotExist

2010-03-02 21:30:10   Wow. Maybe it would be nice to let the place open for business and start selling food before loading up their Wiki page with all these negative comments. —DonShor

  • Heh, we have all decided which Thai place gets our respective business religiously. It's like gang colors in this town. —hankim
  • You seem to have become the self-appointed defender of all Davis businesses these days. Don't stress over the comments. The comments made before a business opens are genuinely archived pretty quickly. And if you tell me you think this town needs another Thai restaurant, then I'll know you've become so defensive that you've lost your objectivity. —CovertProfessor
    • I'm always open to more competitors when it comes to businesses. —hankim
      • My thought is about what is best for Davis. Another Thai restaurant means that they fight it out until one or more of them closes, whereas a new type of restaurant (a vegan/vegetarian one would be good, too!) is less likely to drive the others out of business. Better for the downtown overall, better for Davisites who get more choices. —CovertProfessor
        • My thought is that even with a new Thai place, it would be more choices and better for Davisites still. —hankim
        • When I moved here, this was the total roster of restaurants: Giant Hamburger, Honorable Gee’s, Larry Blake’s, Sambo’s, Straw Hat Pizza. Let a thousand flowers bloom. DonShor
          • Biodiversity is healthier than a monoculture. Of course, they have every right to open whatever restaurant they want. But I can wish that they had made a smarter decision for themselves and for the rest of Davis. —CovertProfessor
            • I feel if they are risking money to do this, they are probably bringing something new to the table. Otherwise, a new spot will open up for a restaurant owner that learned from the previous business' mistake. —hankim
          • Hasn't Woodstocks been around since the 1960s? —IDoNotExist
          • Woodstock's is in the location (somewhat modified) where Honorable Gee's was. Next it was The Library (clever name for a video game arcade). —DonShor

2010-04-19 18:25:28   Walked by last night and it seems they are putting a lot of effort into making the place seem appealing. Very classic motif with nice wooden paneling and Thai statues... if the food is as good as the scenery is easy on the eye it will be worth a try once (and IF) it opens. —WesOne