These are archived reviews of Village Bakery from 2007. For more recent comments, please visit the entry.

2007-01-17 18:35:18   oh goodness i had a very yumzy pizza the other went something like this: 1/2 tomato sauce + 1/2 pesto + spoonful of garlic, then spinach, then a little bit of mozzarella, then goat cheese and sliced roasted red bell peppers and lemon juice sprinkled generously over the top....let me assure you that this is yumville —LexiHudson

2007-02-11 17:56:50   I had their vegetarian pizza and I like the toppings they had on there. —SimonFung

2007-02-12 19:52:04   ~19 posts about the pizza, and only 1 about the asiago (yellow italian cheese) bread. Please order a loaf of asiago ($2.25), ask for it to be sliced, drop the change in the tip cup, go home and toast a few slices, listen to the cheese sizzle, enjoy the rest of your day/night/life. —DanielSong

2007-03-08 21:55:39   I just wish they were open later! —MaggieJacoby

Pretty sure the hours here need to be checked, I was there this night and they seemed to be closing more around eleven, though their kitchen was of course closed prior, I don't think it was eight? I will get back with details. ~Davidpoole

2007-03-09 18:57:15   yeah, its really supposed to close at 8:30 (and last pizza really should be ordered at or before 8) the wiki - it tells no lies! —LexiHudson

2007-03-24 23:25:45   This is my absolute favorite pizza joint! I will miss Village Bakery dearly when I leave Davis =[ —JacobWright

2007-04-01 00:39:50   when the village bakery is closed on a saturday night it's like chopping onions on a cold mountain that aren't roasted ya worry a pizza you is gone —Frenchie

2007-04-10 17:31:58   Yum. —TusharRawat

2007-04-19 13:06:49   sooo good. the best pizza in davis. prices are very reasonable. the pastries are good too! especially the heart cookies, chocolate cake and the fruit tarts. the bread is yummy too, but if you go too late they usually sell out of their more popular breads. Village bakery breads can also be bought at the farmers market, and the food Co-op always has their bread. —AmyYang

2007-05-02 20:40:21   Let's just say that it's very hard to pass anywhere in the general vicinity of this place and not stop in for a quick slice of pizza. Love the vegetable pizza. And now I am starting to think that I prefer the plain (cheese and sauce) pizza — sometimes, nothing hits the spot like the basic food, and VB does it really well. Muffins, etc., are great too. —CovertProfessor

2007-05-28 18:28:54   fact: this is the best pizza ever! —WhitneyMartinez

2007-06-27 08:59:24   The vegetarian pizza is awesome, the crust is delicious, their breads are great with some cheese, hummus and mead. I need to try their desserts but this is a great bakery place. —DavidPoole

2007-07-19 18:42:24   Very Very good pizza and for some reason there employees are friendly i was shocked not use to being treated good by employees anymore this place is the very best of both worlds great pizza and great desserts —dickjones

2007-07-23 19:14:33   I'm a believer. For NY Pizza, I rank Village Bakery the best over Woodstock and Giovinni (Sacramento). —atwong

2007-08-03 14:39:03   Pizza is great of course the more grease the more i like i will be back! also great desserts —Brians

2007-08-17 22:55:26   Sausage is link slices, and spicy in the right way! I love the olives too, they are much more tasty then your typical olive —StevenDaubert

2007-08-19 15:44:13   I would really like a slice right now. Too bad it's Sunday. =[ —EmilyTung

2007-08-20 16:40:55   Don't forget to pick up some of their sourdough rolls at the Saturday Farmer's Market! —LizPhillips

2007-08-26 15:44:37   Being from NY, I can say this is the best pizza in California, even better than Extreme Pizza or Escape From NY Pizza. It might be the second best pizza in the country, in my humble opinion. (The best being the pizza at Talk of the Town in Glens Falls, NY) —ElisaWeller

2007-09-15 18:58:23   Village bakery is great, but they are not consistent with hours

numerous times now I've tried to order pizzas around 7 to be told they are closing early.

Really a joy killer —StevenDaubert

2007-11-29 13:25:59   They have really good bread. It's organic, stays fresh for days, and is cheaper than supermarket bread. —kristineg

2007-12-24 21:00:18   One of the best bakeries in the area, and one of the best pizzas around. Great prices too! —thelonepiper555