The Yolo Plankroad was a raised road of wooden planks that spanned a distance of four and a half miles across the Yolo Basin. Built in 1855, it extended from the Sacramento River to a portion of the Davis Wetlands located about five miles to the southeast of Woodland. The western endpoint of the road was marked by the Tule House, a hotel and stage stop built on stilts. The main advantage of the unique road was that it could be used by travelers in the winter and spring, seasons which normally made the area impassable due to flooding. However, the road required a high degree of upkeep, and, despite its purpose, was susceptible to flooding during some winter months. The Yolo Plankroad was eventually replaced by the Tule Jake Road, a regular road which was only travelable in the dry season.